PDA

View Full Version : RPM PHP and mysql not communicating (FC4)



coyoteboy
30th May 2006, 11:12 AM
I installed php, apache and mysql at the same time using yum from standard RPMs (plain old yum install) but apache cant see mysql functions (function undefined messages) despite php and apache working just fine. I've tried recompiling mysql and php with the -with-mysql etc options as told in many forums but it fails on all sorts of things. Before i waste another night trying to get it running, can anyone suggest why the RPMs dont appear to work properly? I installed mysql rpm before the php one just in case it was required.

Any help appreciated!
J

markkuk
30th May 2006, 12:17 PM
Did you install the php-mysql and mysql-server packages? Did you start the mysqld service?

coyoteboy
30th May 2006, 03:17 PM
lol, thanks for that - no i didnt even know they existed until you said despite a whole stack of searches. Sometimes i wonder if im asleep while i work! Just yum'd them and phpinfo now returns a mysql section :) Yeay, thanks!

Liveshell
8th July 2006, 08:45 AM
Even I installed php-mysql then also phpinfo shows without mysql ....

I have installed Fedora Core 4.
Following RPMs are installed at Installation Time.. (I don't have done ny thing after installation)

php-mysql-5.0.4-10
php-ldap-5.0.4-10
php-odbc-5.0.4-10
php-5.0.4-10
php-pear-5.0.4-10

mysql-4.1.11-2
mod_auth_mysql-2.6.1-4
php-mysql-5.0.4-10
mysql-devel-4.1.11-2
mysqlclient10-3.23.58-6
mysql-bench-4.1.11-2
libdbi-dbd-mysql-0.7.1-3
mysql-server-4.1.11-2


system-config-httpd-1.3.2-2
httpd-2.0.54-10
httpd-manual-2.0.54-10

Now when I use

<?php
phpinfo();
?>

in the op of this function in web browser

in Configure Command Column I get
'--without-mysql'

Why does it show without mysql ???
Is there ny config file (httpd.conf or php.ini) that needs to be modified???