PDA

View Full Version : Screen Resolution



teejay83
30th May 2006, 08:42 AM
When I installed Fedora Core 5, I chose a screen resoultion in the installation process of 800 x 600 and thought I could change it to 1024 x 800 later on, but now I can't the highest resolution I can change to now is 800 x 600. I was using 800 x 600 because I had misplaced my glasses and could not find them (I found them).

giulix
30th May 2006, 08:57 AM
Do you have that larger setting in /etc/X11/xorg.conf ? Look for you "Screen" Section and if you don't have a "Display" Subsection like this


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

add one.

Stevenjd
30th May 2006, 09:00 AM
Simple -

Change the monitor (be carefull not to select a monitor size that is not too big for your monitor). Under the system settings - display.
change the monitor to generic LCD/CRT (LCD is a flat panel) each one has its own list of monitor types. You will need to selcect the change monitor buton where you change the screen resoultion
select the maximum screen resoultion that you monitor supports.
restart x
change the screen resoultion as you have done before and you now should have 1024 x 800 displayed.

Note: change the monitor type should be done with caution as it can mess the xconfig file and you may not be able to see the login screen properly. Take not of the file name that the system backs your config file to so you can restore it latter if ness.

Sorry my details of the loction of the display settings are not clear - I am at work and not on Linux FC5 laptop.

Give it a try if you no how and where to change the screen resoultion then you should be able to follow the instructions above.

Steven

teejay83
30th May 2006, 12:01 PM
Do you have that larger setting in /etc/X11/xorg.conf ? Look for you "Screen" Section and if you don't have a "Display" Subsection like this


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

add one.

Pure genius, thank you very much my screen resolution is back to 1024 by 800 :D