PDA

View Full Version : New to Fedora

callmedrlove
28th May 2006, 06:08 AM
Ok I'm really new to Fedora. I've only used it for like 35 seconds. I need to know how (if?) I can install Earthlink Totalaccess on Fedora. Like it or not it's my ISP and I can't function without it. Any help is appreciated, even if it's just pointing me in a different direction. Thanks.

solarisman
28th May 2006, 06:26 AM
Totalaccess appears to be a collection of tools, independent of the ISP connection. If this is the case Fedora already has these tools built in (except for that line about faster connection...) To set up earthlink you first have to determine if they use PPP or some other protocol. Do you have the original install docs to use as a guide?

StephenH
28th May 2006, 04:46 PM
Ok I'm really new to Fedora. I've only used it for like 35 seconds. I need to know how (if?) I can install Earthlink Totalaccess on Fedora. Like it or not it's my ISP and I can't function without it. Any help is appreciated, even if it's just pointing me in a different direction. Thanks.

Are you on a broadband connection or dialup?

I am on Earthlink broadband, and I can assure you that you do not need to install Total Access to do anything. All the tools you need are contained within Fedora, or are available via yum. :)

One security measure I hope you set up is a separate user account for regular use. It is not good to log in and run as root. When you need to install software or do some maintenance, you can use the superuser command (su -) and enter the root password to do the maintanance, or just select the option from the menus and enter the password when prompted.

What specifically do you need to get set up? Web browsing (Firefox) and E-mail (Thunderbird) are the two main applications I use. I have Clamav set up for antivirus scanning and RKHunter to scan for rootkits.