PDA

View Full Version : yum auto update?

urmom9388
28th May 2006, 03:48 AM
Is there a way to make yum update by itself? I have looked around and havent been able to find an answer. Also, do I really need a virus scanner on linux? I am new to the penguin and if I do need one, what do you suggest? :confused: :confused: :confused:

jbannon
28th May 2006, 04:02 AM
Use either yum update-on-boot or the version to update automatically from crontab. Update on boot is available in the extras repository.

On the virus scanner side, you don't really need one but it would be advisable to take a belt-and-braces approach and install clamav. Another tool you might want to consider is a security checked like rkhunter. However, provided you haven't disabled the firewall and Selinux it should be OK.

urmom9388
28th May 2006, 04:10 AM
can you give me some instructions on how to do this? Sorry, but I am still trying to get use to Linux (which is awesome by the way). Oh and I will try clamav

Seve
28th May 2006, 04:19 AM
can you give me some instructions on how to do this? Sorry, but I am still trying to get use to Linux (which is awesome by the way). Oh and I will try clamav
Hello:
I know that you can enable Yum to run once daily in your /System/Administration/Server Settings/Services .. which will run as long as your machine is up.
To change the time it runs etc, then you will have to edit the cron files as jbannon described.
You can read more here:http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/yum/sn-updating-your-system.html#sn-automatic-updating
Seve

jbannon
28th May 2006, 11:45 AM

I'm assuming you're running Gnome (the default desktop) and have installed the default tools.