PDA

View Full Version : GAIM won't connect on FC5



xpfedora
26th May 2006, 05:06 PM
Hi there,

I can't seem to get GAIM to connect to any of the messaging protocols.

My browser and email work fine... but I can't get GAIM to work.

Are there any settings... or tweaks I need to make?

To be more specific... I type in my user name and password... and then I hit Sign-On.

A progress bar pops up, but it never fills... and after about 4 or 5 minutes I get an error message that I can't connect.

This happens with ICQ, Yahoo, and AIM... I don't have accounts for the other protocols.

thanks in advance.

Jman
27th May 2006, 04:02 AM
Do you have a proxy? Set it in the Network preferences.

You could try other clients like kopete on KDE.

booxter
27th May 2006, 07:38 AM
Try gossip - a very simple jabber client for GNOME - for testing.

xpfedora
27th May 2006, 01:42 PM
Actually this was a false alarm. For some reason when I installed Linux it reset the firewall on my router... which blocks port 5190... which is weird... because as I understand it 5190 is for AIM only... but then I didn't read through the entire firewall log.

So if anyone has this problem in the future... check the firewall log for your router!

The Westell routers have pretty cheap firewall features.