PDA

View Full Version : Password Protect LOCK SCREEN !!!

gserghiou
26th May 2006, 12:31 PM
Hi dudes.

I am no expert on Linux. Had some experience with it before (a few years ago).

I have obtained and installed FC5. I am using it primarily for SQUID .

However i have encountered the problems that others have , like VNC not working unless you are logged in.

I ave been trying to sort it out for ages but i had no luck.

So, i thought, i will be loged in the FC5 machine, LOCK the screen and then the VNC should be working (i think its VINO actually)
I have tried to puuty to ssh and then start vncserver and conenct to it but all i get its the X screen. I tried to startx from there to my FC which was booting in runlevel 3 but it froze on me.. (i got the screen though) :rolleyes:

Anyways...

When i log in as root, and try to LOCK SCREEN, it does not password protect it.

When i log in a normal user, the LOCK SCREEN does not even work...

Can you help me please and tell me how i can set FC to password protect the LOCK SCREEN ???? if i could do this, then i would log in as normal user, or even root if the vnc would not work under normal user, and have FC accept connections from my XP PC only, on which im set in local Security database as the only authorized person to log on....

I think this would save me all the hussle.

Pleae help dudes.

Thanks,

George :cool:

giulix
26th May 2006, 12:54 PM
I use vnc (standard install) every day to connect to my home compy from the office (thru ssh). What is exactly that isn't workling ?

gserghiou
29th May 2006, 06:18 AM
I am doing this as this is mentioned on the internet.
This was the 'easiest' thing for me to do.

I start the FC5 in runlevel 3.