PDA

View Full Version : Booting Windows by Default



Lude
23rd May 2006, 11:25 PM
Hey, ive searched for a long time and cant find how to make windows boot automatically instead of Fedora. I have one HD with both OS on it. Thanks.

bob
23rd May 2006, 11:28 PM
As root (sign into a terminal as 'su -'), then:
"gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf" and change the default from zero to whatever number corresponds to Windows. Remember that the computer counts from zero, so if Windows is number three in the boot chain, you'll put the default as '2'. Also remember that you'll have to re-do this next kernel change.

Lude
24th May 2006, 12:55 AM
Thanks a lot, worked perfectly. Also changed the title there too.

donmor
24th May 2006, 04:03 AM
If you update packages with Software Updater or Yum Extender, look for 'system-config-boot' and install it. You can now go under System/Administration/Bootloader and select what you want without using a terminal.
I have used this thur several updates and on more than one machine.
Good luck

Don

bob
24th May 2006, 04:09 AM
OMG, no terminal?!!! Next, you'll want us to do graphical boots! :D