PDA

View Full Version : New installation questions (Partitioning, etc)

chrisrkline
21st May 2006, 01:15 PM
I am new to Linux. I have been fiddling with it over the last month or so.

I had a 40 gig hard drive, and had an empty partition, so I had been installing various Linux distros on the partition to see what it could do, waiting to pick up a second hard drive. Never had a problem. Last week I bought a new WD 160 gig HD and attached it as primary, used the WD Data Lifeguard Tools to copy the other drives main partition. Then I had to fiddle in Win XP to get the new drive to be the boot drive, and everything seemed OK. I loaded Linux and was going to make it my main OS.

Everything was fine. Until once when I booted into Windows, and saw a new listed drive, G: which seemed to be the Linux partition (never had seen something like that before when I had loaded Linux earlier). Anyway, I did something to a windows partition, tried to reboot, and I just got some grub command line, and I was lost. I was not happy with my partition decisions in Linux, so I was going to start over. But I also could not boot to my XP install disk, which had never happened before. The Linux did boot fine. I used the WD disk to set up the HD and re-partition and reformat everything, and started to reinstall XP, but decided to just go with Linux. Had it up, by itself, doing fine. I had cut the umbilical chord.

But then I decided I needed WinXP on there (am I decisive or am I decisive), and for the last time started over (Linux is so easy to install, that I could do this) but again, the WinXP install disk would not boot. Grup would, but not the XP install. I repeated everything I had done before, put on a small XP partition, installed Fedora with default layout and I am up and running, and have booted back and forth from WinXP to Linux several times.

Questions: