PDA

View Full Version : Fail to mount device



twodogron
20th May 2006, 02:19 PM
I'm a complete newbee to Linux so please bear with me.
I run a dual boot system, (trying to convert eventually to Linux!!) that is Win XP and recently installed Fedora Core 5. Both systems boot and run fine, however, I have a small problem with Fedora as follows :-
I have recently downloaded and started to use KmyMoney 0.8, (I use Quicken in Windows) that's all fine and I'm pleased with KmyMoney, however, now that I've entered some date into KmyMoney I can't seem to back it up onto a floppy. Whenever I try backing up I get the following error message "Failed to Mount Device" so I press the "OK" button and then I get another message "Failed to Unmount Device", I again press "OK" and then I'm returned to where I started, but nothing backs up. The odd thing is I can "format" the floppy in ext2 perfectly OK.
I've tried this operation in, and out of root, but no way can I reach the Floppy to save any data.
Can anyone help as I realise that it's probably a simple matter to rectify, but me being me, I haven't got a clue.
It's so much easier in Win XP.........
Many Thanks, Ron............

JoeyJoJoe
20th May 2006, 03:53 PM
have you actually mounted it? I don't know your system but what I would advise is (I'll assume you've got an inbuilt floppy drive) when you put a disk in go to the "computer" from the desktop and then if it is in there right click and then go down to mount. You can check if it is mounted by going into the terminal and typing "mount" which should show you all that is mounted. I don't really know why it wouldn't mount by itself... you might need to do it manually; but I wouldnt be the best person to advise on that

twodogron
20th May 2006, 04:33 PM
Hi, yes i've got a inbuilt floppy and my system advises that I have not mounted the drive.. (any drive I try CD, DVD, Flopppy, they all fail...............
I read one of the "How To" articles and understand that I need to access the fstab fileto see whats going on, so I've tried this from the treminal as root but was "denied permission" when entering "/etc/fstab". I cannot understand how root is denied access to files....

denico
20th May 2006, 09:11 PM
Hi...

Try to be a bit more specific .... ...

I.E. what exactly do you type when trying to access /etc/fstab , and what is the reply ?

When a disk is inserted and when mounted try this in a shell : mount
You should get a list of mounted filesystems , post it here.

Be careful when su to root, dont change anything you are not very sure about :)

/Dennis

serdal
20th May 2006, 11:05 PM
Hello, I am Serdal. I have very similar trouble, too. I can not reach my Floppy Drive, and I can not use my Lexmark X1150 series all-in-one printer-scanner. I am using FC 5 and when i try to reach-view my floppy disks, a pop message says "can not mount volume". I read previous posts in this page, and i typed mount in the terminal page, but nothing changed.

Could any one offer any help about this, please? Thanks in advance.

denico
20th May 2006, 11:57 PM
Ok. try this:

Restart your system. (to make sure all is mounted / unmounted to defaults)

When up, insert a floppy in the drive. (do nothing else)

Open a shell and type :

mount

post output here.

type :

cat /etc/fstab
post output here

now try:

mount /dev/fd0

and then again:


mount


Post the outputs (responses) here and lets see what can be done :)





Hello, I am Serdal. I have very similar trouble, too. I can not reach my Floppy Drive, and I can not use my Lexmark X1150 series all-in-one printer-scanner. I am using FC 5 and when i try to reach-view my floppy disks, a pop message says "can not mount volume". I read previous posts in this page, and i typed mount in the terminal page, but nothing changed.

Could any one offer any help about this, please? Thanks in advance.

serdal
21st May 2006, 08:30 AM
Hello Denico,

Thank you very much for your prompt reply. Does opening shell mean opening or running terminal? If so, I did what you asked, and here what happened:


[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
automount(pid1918) on /net type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1918,minproto=2,maxproto=4)/dev/hdd on /media/Silvestri type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,uid=500)
/dev/hdc on /media/THE_PINK_PANTHE type udf (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,uid=500)
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ cat /etc/fstab
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount /dev/fd0
mount: can't find /dev/fd0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount /dev/fd0
mount: can't find /dev/fd0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount /dev/fdD
mount: can't find /dev/fdD in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount /dev/fdO
mount: can't find /dev/fdO in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount /dev/fd0
mount: can't find /dev/fd0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$ mount
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
automount(pid1918) on /net type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1918,minproto=2,maxproto=4)/dev/hdd on /media/Silvestri type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,uid=500)
/dev/hdc on /media/THE_PINK_PANTHE type udf (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,uid=500)
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
[serdal@d154-20-211-58 ~]$

Denico, in your reply, the command "mount /dev/fd0", is the last letter 0 (Zero) or O (Oh)?. First and then last time i tried, i typed as 0 (zero), but nothing changed much.

Best Regards,
Serdal

twodogron
21st May 2006, 11:03 AM
Hi...

Try to be a bit more specific .... ...

I.E. what exactly do you type when trying to access /etc/fstab , and what is the reply ?

When a disk is inserted and when mounted try this in a shell : mount
You should get a list of mounted filesystems , post it here.

Be careful when su to root, dont change anything you are not very sure about :)

/Dennis
Lines 1 thru 4 is the result of attempting to /etc/fstab and from line 6 onwards is what resulted from inserting a 1.44 floppy int my inbuilt drive and typing "mount"
Is this any help ???

[ron@localhost ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@localhost ~]# /etc/fstab
-bash: /etc/fstab: Permission denied
[root@localhost ~]#
[root@localhost ~]# mount
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/sda7 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
automount(pid1929) on /net type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1929,minproto=2,maxproto=4)
[root@localhost ~]#

Thanks,
Ron......

twodogron
21st May 2006, 11:21 AM
For Denico,
I've just repeated your instructions to Serdal.
I typed this code whilst a floppy was being formatted in the inbuilt drive, that's the only way I can get any reaction from my floppy drive i.e. It will "format" a disk but it will not "mount"
Thanks,
Ron...........

twodogron
21st May 2006, 11:23 AM
For Denico,
I've just repeated your instructions to Serdal.
I typed this code whilst a floppy was being formatted in the inbuilt drive, that's the only way I can get any reaction from my floppy drive i.e. It will "format" a disk but it will not "mount"
Thanks,
Ron...........

Password:
[root@localhost ~]# mount
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/sda7 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)
automount(pid1929) on /net type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1929,minproto=2,maxproto=4)
[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/fstab
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
[root@localhost ~]# mount /dev/fd0
mount: can't find /dev/fd0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
[root@localhost ~]# mount
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 on / type ext3 (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/sda7 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)

Skunk Worx
21st May 2006, 11:25 AM
I don't think fstab will have a disk device for fd0 if Fedora can't detect it on boot.

The only machine I have with a floppy is FC4 based and it rewrites the fstab as it boots.


$ dmesg | grep fd
...
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M

$ dmesg | grep FDC
FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077

$ grep fd0 /etc/fstab
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,utf8,managed 0 0

$ ls -l /etc/fstab
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 792 May 20 21:11 /etc/fstab

It was written yesterday...not by me.

denico
21st May 2006, 11:49 AM
Hi Serdal..

Yes, terminal, konsole or shell are all fine.

Ok, now you need to edit your fstab, and add the following line. Just add it at the buttom:


su -
echo '/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto rw,noauto,user,sync 0 0' >> /etc/fstab
exit (to exit from root)

(If you know how to edit the file with an editor, then just add the line instead of echo.)
now try again to mount and read a disk (not as root !, use a user account):



mount /dev/fd0 * this will mount the device fd0 to the mountpoint /media/floppy
ls -al /media/floppy * is there something there ?

umount /dev/fd0 * and unmounting


Does this work ?


/Dennis


[QUOTE=serdal]Hello Denico,

Thank you very much for your prompt reply. Does opening shell mean opening or running terminal? If so, I did what you asked, and here what happened:

denico
21st May 2006, 11:59 AM
You are trying execute the /etc/fstab file. The file is a text configuration file.
To list its contents :

cat /etc/fstab

To edit the file you must su to root.
Try to add the file i described in the mess. to Serdal, those instruction are valid
for you to.

Regards


Lines 1 thru 4 is the result of attempting to /etc/fstab and from line 6 onwards is what resulted from inserting a 1.44 floppy int my inbuilt drive and typing "mount"
Is this any help ???

[ron@localhost ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@localhost ~]# /etc/fstab
-bash: /etc/fstab: Permission denied


Thanks,
Ron......

twodogron
21st May 2006, 12:37 PM
You are trying execute the /etc/fstab file. The file is a text configuration file.
To list its contents :

cat /etc/fstab

To edit the file you must su to root.
Try to add the file i described in the mess. to Serdal, those instruction are valid
for you to.

Regards
Tried twice, results below........

[ron@localhost ~]$ su -
Password:
[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/fstab
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
[root@localhost ~]# echo '/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto rw,noauto,user,sync 0 0' >> /est/fstab exit
-bash: /est/fstabexit: No such file or directory
[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/fstab
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
[root@localhost ~]# echo '/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto rw,noauto,user,sync 0 0' >> /est/fstab exit
-bash: /est/fstab: No such file or directory
[root@localhost ~]#

Why is it telling me that etc/fstab doesn't exist !!!!!

denico
21st May 2006, 12:56 PM
[root@localhost ~]# echo '/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto rw,noauto,user,sync 0 0' >> /est/fstab exit
-bash: /est/fstabexit: No such file or directory


You have typos. in the above.
You need to make sure that you type things right, when you are root things can go very wrong very fast :)

First line should end with ... etc/fstab Not est/fstab !




-bash: /est/fstab: No such file or directory
[root@localhost ~]#
Same typo in the above.



Why is it telling me that etc/fstab doesn't exist !!!!!

denico
21st May 2006, 01:01 PM
[root@localhost ~]# echo '/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto rw,noauto,user,sync 0 0' >> /est/fstab exit
-bash: /est/fstabexit: No such file or directory


You have typos. in the above.
You need to make sure that you type things right, when you are root things can go very wrong very fast

First line should end with ... etc/fstab Not est/fstab !
exit is a second command, to be entered after the first line have been executed.


-bash: /est/fstab: No such file or directory
[root@localhost ~]#

Same typo in the above.



Why is it telling me that etc/fstab doesn't exist !!!!!

twodogron
21st May 2006, 02:31 PM
You have typos. in the above.
You need to make sure that you type things right, when you are root things can go very wrong very fast

First line should end with ... etc/fstab Not est/fstab !
exit is a second command, to be entered after the first line have been executed.



Same typo in the above.



Why is it telling me that etc/fstab doesn't exist !!!!!
Sorry about my typing problems.
I've now entered the first instruction and although it was accepted I still cannot mount the Floppy.........
Quote...........
[ron@localhost ~]$ mount /dev/fd0
mount: mount point /media/floppy does not exist
[ron@localhost ~]$ ls -al /media/floppy
ls: /media/floppy: No such file or directory
[ron@localhost ~]$ mount /dev/fd0
mount: mount point /media/floppy does not exist
[ron@localhost ~]$

Unquote.........
ron

denico
21st May 2006, 02:49 PM
Ups... sorry
You need to create the mount point first, so:

su -

mkdir /media/floppy

exit
then insert disk if not allready in, and :

mount /dev/fd0
- or -
mount /media/floppy

ls -al /media/floppy
if you now try

mount
you will see that the floppy is mounted as a filesystem.
and to unmount :

umount /dev/fd0

- or -
umount /media/floppy

Regards,
Dennis

Skunk Worx
21st May 2006, 07:33 PM
Hey twodogron, would you consider trying the commands I listed earlier?

You can see my post just before the one denico posted with the "thumbs down".

I don't see much reason to go though all of this if your kernel is not finding the floppy device. There will be nothing to mount.

EDIT : here's the way to know one way or the other, you don't need fstab at all!



# mkdir /tmp/crack
# mount /dev/fd0 /tmp/crack

If that works, you can go into /tmp/crack anyway you like and see the files. You will know your kernel special device is good.

---
John