PDA

View Full Version : VNC via SecureCRT/TightVNC ?



tebbens
11th May 2006, 01:44 PM
Is it possible to do VNC over SecureCRT & TightVNC ?
Is there any WinXP VNC/SSH method that works ?

Matthew

tscheez
11th May 2006, 02:19 PM
i havent used secureCRT in a while so I dont remember if you can do tunneling with it. but i know you can with PuTTY. http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

there's an example here http://cyberknights.com.au/doc/PuTTY-tunnelling-HOWTO.html

I prefer to install cygwin http://www.cygwin.com/ and use xterm myself that way i can either use the cygwin X server or forward vnc with

ssh -L <port>:locahost:<port> <user>@<host>

the port you want to forward for vnc is 590n where n is the display number that vnc is running on.

jhetrick62
11th May 2006, 02:43 PM
You can definitely do a windows tightvnc client through ssh tunnel to a FC machine. I do it every week. I did set up VNC on xinetd following Firewing1 one guide and set putty up to forward port 5910 through to port 5900 via ssh on the FC5 machine.

Jeff