PDA

View Full Version : Yum crashes with segm



Kvark
9th May 2006, 10:55 PM
I have a AMD Athlon(tm)64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+

uname -a

Linux amdserver 2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 #1 SMP Tue Mar 14 15:48:20 EST 2006 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux



[root@amdserver ~]# yum upgrade
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Upgrade Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/3]
core 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
extras [2/3]
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
updates [3/3]
updates 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 844 kB 00:00
core : ####### 368/2422
Segmentation fault


Anyone know what could cause this?
sometimes it seg, something it works, once it even crashed and made the computer freeze.

I've searched around without finding help.

Kvark

Jman
10th May 2006, 01:38 AM
sometimes it seg, something it works, once it even crashed and made the computer freeze.


This suggests it is not a corrupted yum package list or anything. Possibly it's a strange bug in python but I doubt it.

Try testing your RAM from the install CD. (http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/fedora-install-guide-en/fc5/sn-boot-modes.html)

Kvark
10th May 2006, 08:53 PM
Did a memory scan and everything was fine, installed 32bits fedora and everything works fine (after 3 reinstalls of the 64bits version) apparently the 64bits cores still have some work to do ):

Kinda crappy to have a 64bit CPU and run a 32 bits OS, maybe ill try debian i64 or something else.

/K

Seve
10th May 2006, 09:07 PM
Did a memory scan and everything was fine, installed 32bits fedora and everything works fine (after 3 reinstalls of the 64bits version) apparently the 64bits cores still have some work to do ):

Kinda crappy to have a 64bit CPU and run a 32 bits OS, maybe ill try debian i64 or something else.

/K
Not sure this helps you out or not, but I have had FC5 since test 2 on X86_64 and have not seen your error.
If you still have it installed at the moment, try just doing a yum clean all, then yum update yum and then yum update kernel if that goes well then try the yum upgrade ........see if the seg fault goes away.
Seve

Kvark
10th May 2006, 09:55 PM
should i have a smp kernel? it's a X2 processor?

/K

Kvark
10th May 2006, 10:37 PM
OK i reinstalled the 64bit version, installed new yum with yum, installed new kernel and problem is still here ):

Seve
10th May 2006, 10:40 PM
should i have a smp kernel? it's a X2 processor?

/K
You already do as the Fc5 x86_64 kernels include smp support. The naming convention is just different than the 32bit kernels in FC5.
Seve

Seve
10th May 2006, 10:43 PM
OK i reinstalled the 64bit version, installed new yum with yum, installed new kernel and problem is still here ):
Hello:
Sorry to hear that. :confused:
Other than checking your BIOS to make sure that there is nothing odd enabled or disabled? You could try setting your BIOS to setup defaults etc to see if it makes a difference.
Dunno .... sorry.
Seve
Again, not for sure, but since you were able to update yum and update the kernel w/o a problem?
Try using yum to update only....not upgrade and try using smaller updates. You can either install yumex via yum or do something like yum groupupdate "Gnome Desktop Environment"
at the root prompt type # yum grouplist to find the updates available.
hth
Seve

Kvark
11th May 2006, 07:13 AM
Thanks for the suggestions and trying. But it dont seem to happen always, and the more i use the 64 bits veresion the more diffrent crashes see to happen ):

Im clueless!

Kvark
15th May 2006, 02:54 PM
Updated bios, and everything works perfectly.

/K

dakroon
17th June 2006, 12:45 PM
hey... it seems i'm getting the same segmentation fault error

i tried the yum clean all and yum update yum but i'm facing the same problem.

how did you upgraded your bios? or... what should i look for when configuring my bios?

i would apreciate your help. htanks!