PDA

View Full Version : why does it do this? - updater window



ELD
9th May 2006, 12:21 PM
I am just curios as to why some windows do this - right now my updater does it if i minimize or go to another window:

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e397/clericvash/Screenshot.png

(text and progress bar dissapears)

bob
9th May 2006, 12:30 PM
That is interesting and I've noticed it with Yumex and also with the old Up2date. Of course, it will eventually return when it's finished with the current cycle, but makes you wonder for a minute. Well, there's always the faithful terminal and yum.

ELD
9th May 2006, 12:38 PM
Yeah at least terminal for me has yet to ever do it!

It makes you wonder for a few minues "crap did it crash".

Altho nothing has yet to actually crash for 2 days since i have been using FC5 so im thankfull! Infact been a more productive 2 days than any time i spend on windows!

tomcat
9th May 2006, 01:55 PM
Other distros have the same problem with their package managers. Dunno why. :confused:

ELD
9th May 2006, 03:19 PM
Mabye someone should have a look at the window focus part of the coding?

Jman
10th May 2006, 01:29 AM
Problably because the GUI blocks on I/O (http://gnomerocksmyworld.blogspot.com/2006/01/things-about-gnome-that-suck-part-one.html). Meaning the windows only redraw when it downloads something from the network. With slow or unreliable links this can take a while.

yum executes the urlgrabber script, which I presume runs in a seperate process. Also, command line utilities aren't as prone to drawing problems.

Mat
10th May 2006, 01:44 AM
guess what those programs need is multi-threading..
one thread for the gui, the other(s) for the actual operations
that way, the GUI can be updated, although other operations (like retrieving something from the net) have not already returned successfully


Mat

ELD
10th May 2006, 03:55 PM
guess what those programs need is multi-threading..
one thread for the gui, the other(s) for the actual operations
that way, the GUI can be updated, although other operations (like retrieving something from the net) have not already returned successfully


Mat

That would be mighty nice to be honest!

tox_yray
10th May 2006, 07:42 PM
That would be mighty nice to be honest!

I'd say it would be necessary. Any modern program should not look like that if it is not crashed :P

Jman
11th May 2006, 06:36 AM
These comments may be useful in sugguesting how this might be accomplished. (http://gnomerocksmyworld.blogspot.com/2006/05/getting-off-my-lazy-arse.html)