PDA

View Full Version : Fedora is not suitable for a translator' everyday use, why?

newyilang
7th May 2006, 01:13 PM
Well, I am a translator. I must deal with Chinese, English, and Japanese languages on my computer.

At present, I am using WindowsXP as my desktop and Fedora in VMware. As for Windows, I use the English version as the base system and added MUI support, so I can handle English, Chinese, and Japanese document at just one system.

I really love the penguine rather than Windows. However, I can't transfer to Linux totally. I install Fedora with English as my default language, but it is impossible for me to visit Chinese and Japanese pages. Whenever I visit such pages, there will be always corrupt codes on the screen.

Oops, I am a translator. I must deal with multi-languages at one system. Is Fedora suitable for me?

tomcat
7th May 2006, 05:37 PM
Have you installed all necessary language packs already?

daihard
7th May 2006, 05:41 PM
At present, I am using WindowsXP as my desktop and Fedora in VMware. As for Windows, I use the English version as the base system and added MUI support, so I can handle English, Chinese, and Japanese document at just one system.

I really love the penguine rather than Windows. However, I can't transfer to Linux totally. I install Fedora with English as my default language, but it is impossible for me to visit Chinese and Japanese pages. Whenever I visit such pages, there will be always corrupt codes on the screen.
That's exactly what would happen to your XP if you did not have the East-Asian Language support installed with it. Why do you expect Fedora Core to behave any differently? ;)

There is an option to choose the languages to support during FC installation. Fedora will install all the necessary files (including fonts) for the selected languages, and you'll have no problem writing, not to mention viewing Web sites, in those languages.

newyilang
9th May 2006, 03:49 PM