PDA

View Full Version : How to start clamd at booting



HeikoAdams
6th May 2006, 10:50 PM
Hi,
is there at way to make clamd starting while booting fedora core 5?

gavinw6662
7th May 2006, 01:50 AM
it depends on how you have it configured. I downloaded the RPM at the clamav website. After that --

chkconfig --level 35 clamd on

and that should make it start at boot everytime. But it really depends on how you installed it.

HeikoAdams
7th May 2006, 09:47 AM
Does this also work if I'm using the clamav rpms from fedora extras?

gavinw6662
8th May 2006, 03:48 AM
the rpm's should automatically add the daemon to the RH chkconfig facility. So if you do a 'chkconfig --list | grep clam' it will show you which clam daemons are set up in there. Then do

chkconfig --level 35 calmdaemonname on

frharris27
8th May 2006, 03:59 AM
To understand what's going on, look at
/etc/rc.d/init.d
/etc/rc.d/rc3.d
/etc/rc.d/rc5.d
As well as /etc/inittab
Basically, the startup/shutdown scripts are in init.d. The startup "runlevel" is in inittab. rc3.d is for runlevel 3. rc5.d is for runlevel 5. S is for startup. K is for kill.

Be careful with the clamav rpms in the standard yum repositories. I've found them to very flakey.

HeikoAdams
9th May 2006, 08:51 PM
Sorry guys but the fedora rpms don't install any entry for the clamd service :(

sameeh
23rd May 2006, 12:58 AM
I'm also searching for the clamd daemon...I couldn't find it anywhere !!!