PDA

View Full Version : Apache + windows?



ttttedttt
6th May 2006, 05:35 PM
Can i run and host a website using apache on windows 2000?

My windows 2000 system has about 100 gigs of harddrive and my fedora core 5 system only has about 3. so i was also wondering if it would be better if i hosted a website from my windows 2000 system?

ccrvic
6th May 2006, 06:43 PM
Can i run and host a website using apache on windows 2000?

Yes.


My windows 2000 system has about 100 gigs of harddrive and my fedora core 5 system only has about 3. so i was also wondering if it would be better if i hosted a website from my windows 2000 system?

No, it would be better if you hosted it on Linux.

If you set up a web server, you *will* be subjected to attack.

Now you might be bright enough to set up a Windows installation that is secure against such attack - but I'm certainly not.

If disk space is your biggest problem, why not hold the files on your Windows box & make a share; you can then mount that share on your Linux box & use that to server them to the internet.

...Or buy another hard disk. They're very cheap these days...

Vic.

eboxhead
6th May 2006, 10:46 PM
I had Apache running on W2000 with NO-IP. No security problems but it was only testing - about
5 days so there was no attacks... after longer time,who knows.
User permission are important - so make APACHE user with suitable permissions.
- - - -
Linux is more secure of course, I'd say.

I had big problems with ZyXEL adsl modem, firewall setup... #"#"#"# :)

good luck:)