PDA

View Full Version : Does FC5 x86_64 have OpenOffice actually working out of the box?



MasterC
5th May 2006, 09:24 AM
Evening!

I'm venturing towards an FC4 --> FC5 x86_64 update and am curious whether the OpenOffice issue has been resolved? I'm also using an Nvidia card, which seemed to play a role in the past somehow.

Thanks for any input.

Chad

jcliburn
5th May 2006, 12:52 PM
I don't use OOo much, but the few times I've used it in FC5 x86_64, it seemed to work okay. It's an i386 package, of course, but 32-bit packages work fine in x86_64.

For Nvidia, I use the packages from Livna. No problems so long as you wait for the kernel-matched drivers to show up at Livna before you upgrade your kernel.

Jay

Seve
5th May 2006, 02:11 PM
Evening!
FC5 x86_64 update and am curious whether the OpenOffice issue has been resolved?
Thanks for any input.

Chad
Well it is an on and off again thing to date with OO in FC5 x86_64. It has worked flawlessly until a couple of updates ago and then it would not launch and seg faulted. The most recent update did not fix it either, at least for me :confused:
Seve