PDA

View Full Version : New FC5 kernel won't boot.

tgoose
3rd May 2006, 02:46 PM
I installed FC5 from CD using the /home dir from FC4. Everything worked fine until I updated to the 2.6.16-1.2107_FC5 kernel. Trying to boot to that starts udev, then where it would be expected to run graphically it just stops, with an X cursor that can be moved. I've left it for long periods of time in case it was just being slow, but nothing happens. I've tried changing the options to noacpi because... well, someone else did :) and that did exactly the same thing. The old kernel (2.6.15-1.2054_FC5) still works perfectly and I'm posting from that now. I've searched around these forums and found no other problems quite the same, so does anyone have any ideas? In fact, where do I find a log to post since presumably that would be more useful?

Thank you.

mikefreeman
3rd May 2006, 03:16 PM
I'm no expert however I would start by editing /etc/inittab thus:

id:3:initdefault:

So you boot to a command line from which you have more control. It sounds like an X problem so startx and if it hangs Ctrl-Alt-Backspace out of it and check the error messge.

tgoose
3rd May 2006, 04:11 PM
That boots fine. I suppose it doesn't really matter then, since it's barely any inconvenience now.

erlend_oyen
3rd May 2006, 05:02 PM
I have the same problem, but a can boot with the old kernel. Have somone found a solution to this problem?

lurp
3rd May 2006, 05:05 PM
same problem here!

no booting with new kernel. the old one works still fine.

steve1961
3rd May 2006, 05:06 PM
I have the same problem, but a can boot with the old kernel. Have somone found a solution to this problem?