PDA

View Full Version : 32 bit firefox



LinuxHippy
2nd May 2006, 10:36 PM
I am using FC5 x86_64 and am having trouble doing searches on www.napster.com. This works on my 32 bit laptop using Slackware, so it's probably a 64 bit issue. In FC5, which 32 bit repo do I need in yumex for Firefox?

c_ryan
2nd May 2006, 10:50 PM
You could just download firefox 32-bit from the Mozilla site then you wouldn't need to worry about repositories. I've been doing that and it works ok.

Finalzone
2nd May 2006, 10:57 PM
Also read this How-To tutorial (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=102143&highlight=core-i386). Remember that plugins like Flash don't run on a 64bit browsers as manufactures didn't provide their 64boit version.

LinuxHippy
3rd May 2006, 12:04 AM
First I removed firefox for 64 bit and then tried the info in that tutorial and tried to installed the 32 bit version of Firefox from www.getfirefox.com but wasn't able to install flash player. Has anybody with a 64 bit pc gotten flash player working? Maybe I first need to install the java plugin to get flash working?

Finalzone
3rd May 2006, 12:46 AM
Take a look at the Firewall configuration under SELinux Tab, search for compatibilty policies and check Allowed Libraryy shared with Text Relocation.

jcliburn
3rd May 2006, 02:10 AM
First I removed firefox for 64 bit and then tried the info in that tutorial and tried to installed the 32 bit version of Firefox from www.getfirefox.com but wasn't able to install flash player. Has anybody with a 64 bit pc gotten flash player working? Maybe I first need to install the java plugin to get flash working?
I'm confused. Did you or did you not get firefox.i386 from the updates-i386 repo as the howto advises? Your post indicates you went directly to Mozilla's site to get firefox, but it also references the howto -- which doesn't call for obtaining Firefox from Mozilla; it calls for the rpm from the updates-i386 repo.

Flash in x86_64 works just fine with 32-bit Firefox if installed correctly.

LinuxHippy
6th May 2006, 12:59 AM
I get this error when I try to install firefox using yum with an i386 repo:

yum --enablerepo=core-i386 --enablerepo=updates-i386 install firefox.i386

Transaction Check Error: file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_accessibility_keyboard.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_accessibility_startup.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_applications_browser.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_applications_help_viewer.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_applications_terminal.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_applications_window_manager.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_background.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_file_views.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_interface.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_lockdown.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_peripherals_keyboard.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_peripherals_mouse.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_sound.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_thumbnailers.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/gconf/schemas/desktop_gnome_typing_break.schemas from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/sound/events/gnome-2.soundlist from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1
file /etc/sound/events/gtk-events-2.soundlist from install of libgnome-2.14.1-1.fc5.1 conflicts with file from package libgnome-2.14.0-1

What now?

jcliburn
6th May 2006, 02:54 AM
Use the yumex method described here: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=102143

LinuxHippy
6th May 2006, 03:10 AM
yumex gives me those same transaction check errors. Can I turn off transaction checks?

jcliburn
6th May 2006, 12:36 PM
Post the output of this command:

yum list installed libgnome

Is your system completely up to date?

LinuxHippy
6th May 2006, 01:00 PM
My system is up to date as of 2 days ago.

[root@LinuxHippyIII huntz]# yum list installed libgnome
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Installed Packages
libgnome.x86_64 2.14.0-1 installed
libgnome.x86_64 2.14.1-1.fc5.1 installed

Looks like libgnome is installed twice. Should I remove one?

Eric Buist
6th May 2006, 04:08 PM
I also tried to install the 32-bits Firefox from Yum and obtained error messages similar to the preceding ones. The only solution I found was to download Firefox from www.mozilla.com, and to unpack it in /usr/local. I had to install compat-libstdc++-33 to get the browser working, and this package also fixed a bug with Adobe Reader not starting at all.
With this 32 bits Firefox, I could get Flash and Java working.
However, Firefox's startup is slower than it was with FC4 x86_64. This may be due to a kernel performance issue with executing 32 bits on x86_64, or the use of the old libstdc++.

Finalzone
6th May 2006, 08:08 PM
My system is up to date as of 2 days ago.

[root@LinuxHippyIII huntz]# yum list installed libgnome
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Installed Packages
libgnome.x86_64 2.14.0-1 installed
libgnome.x86_64 2.14.1-1.fc5.1 installed

Looks like libgnome is installed twice. Should I remove one?

lignome.x86_64 2.14.0-1 is the old package that you can safety remove. Also, you can do yum --enablerepo=update-i386 install firefox for example.

jcliburn
6th May 2006, 09:14 PM
My system is up to date as of 2 days ago.

[root@LinuxHippyIII huntz]# yum list installed libgnome
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Installed Packages
libgnome.x86_64 2.14.0-1 installed
libgnome.x86_64 2.14.1-1.fc5.1 installed

Looks like libgnome is installed twice. Should I remove one?
Friend, I'm mystified by the presence of conflicting libgnome packages on your system. It should never happen unless it was forced, but hey, stranger things have happened I guess.

Do as Finalzone says and remove 2.14.0-1, if you can. If you run into dependency errors, post them here and we'll see if we can work through it with you.

LinuxHippy
6th May 2006, 09:42 PM
I'm at a loss. I saw Firefox install for i386 after removing the first libgnome with yum remove. I untarred and ran firefox 1.5.0.3 from www.getfirefox.com yesterday. I realized from help in firefox that it installed a version for x86_64. Not helpful for flash, so I removed that directory. Now when I run the command firefox, I get version 1.5.0.3 for 64 bit opening up...I deleted it! Udatedb and locate show a lot of files and directories for firefox 1.5.0.2 and only the tarball for 1.5.0.3. Here's a yum list:

[huntz@LinuxHippyIII ~]$ yum list installed firefox
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Installed Packages
firefox.i386 1.5.0.2-1.2.fc5 installed

Is the help file reporting an old file in .mozilla and executing firefox 1.5.0.2 for i386 or is really finding an executable for 1.5.0.3 for x86_64?

jcliburn
6th May 2006, 10:40 PM
What does the command "locate firefox-bin" show?

LinuxHippy
6th May 2006, 10:48 PM
[root@LinuxHippyIII huntz]# locate firefox-bin
/usr/lib/firefox-1.5.0.2/firefox-bin

jcliburn
6th May 2006, 11:00 PM
You're running the 32-bit version. I checked my own Help->About and it shows x86_64, too, but it's definitely the 32-bit version. I think you're good to go.

LinuxHippy
7th May 2006, 12:24 AM
Success!! about:plugins showed that flashplayer was already installed (I tried installing it so many times previously). Also, I temporarily renamed ~/.mozilla/firefox and found that I was using 1.5.0.2...though it still said for x86_64 as was said. Flash on www.napster.com works now! Thanks for all the help!

Oh, when I update using yum, do I specify not to update firefox now so I keep it i386?

jcliburn
7th May 2006, 02:42 AM
The instructions in the howto explain how to update your 32-bit Firefox. You'll need to use the --enablerepo option.