PDA

View Full Version : up2date and a full /var on a fresh install

aldend123
1st May 2006, 06:36 AM
Just to keep everyone posted, I'm quite new to linux.

After installing Fedora 5, with /var on a 768 meg partition, I ran up2date (not knowing yum is the better alternative as I just read on your FAQ) , and after quite some time of getting it to connect to a server and begin updating, I leave it running over night. I wake up to find its almost done, but just sitting there doing nothing. After an hour or so I exit, and try again. Found out why it had stopped. Turns out /var is full, which is a 768 meg partition, made based on a Fedora book's install recommendations I bought for a class I'm taking.

Does this mean I'm full up and should get to expanding that partition, or is it simply full of stuff that no longer needs to be there and I can treat it like a windows TEMP folder and empty it?

And just throwin this one out there, if I download a program to my desktop, and run configure/make/install etc from that location on my desktop, does this copy all the files to their needed locations and I can now delete the files from the desktop, or is this now the current location the computer will look to find whatever files where involved in the installtion? And I dont mean something like an RPM, Im refering to when you have a .tar.gz folder with the source and app in the folder, which is extracted to the desktop.

Thanks

Spoon!
1st May 2006, 08:17 AM
I ran up2date
Where did you even get it? FC5 doesn't come with up2date.

Does this mean I'm full up and should get to expanding that partition, or is it simply full of stuff that no longer needs to be there and I can treat it like a windows TEMP folder and empty it?
I think up2date keeps a cache of downloaded packages in somewhere like /var/spool/up2date It's unnecessary and you can delete the files in there.