PDA

View Full Version : Very Slow DNS Lookup - Fedora 5



ethompson1949
1st May 2006, 04:37 AM
It is taking a very long time to do DNS lookups, nearly 10 seconds to find the IP address using the name. I thought it may have been other issues (bad cable modem, bandwidth problem, etc.) but using IP addresses works just fine. I have a couple other computers access the same router/modem and they function just fine so I know it has something to do with some configuration parameter in Fedora.

Anyone have any ideas?

ethompson1949
1st May 2006, 05:21 AM
Follow up on my own post: I changed the DNS entries to some public ones I found elsewhere. Things are back to normal. Still can't figure out why a Windows box functioned fine using the previous DNS servers or why the this Linux box functioned so poorly with them.

airwolf
2nd May 2006, 02:05 PM
i had the same problems and did this

edit the /etc/modprobe.conf file and add these 2 lines to the end.

alias net-pf-10 off
alias ipv6 off

and

Try adding these lines to your /ect/sysctl.conf

net.ipv4.tcp_moderate_rcvbuf=0
net.ipv4.tcp_default_win_scale=0

works very fast now

MrCottonmouth
27th September 2006, 04:36 AM
This works great!! I was about to give up.

$Linux
9th October 2007, 09:22 PM
i had the same problems and did this

edit the /etc/modprobe.conf file and add these 2 lines to the end.

alias net-pf-10 off
alias ipv6 off

and

Try adding these lines to your /ect/sysctl.conf

net.ipv4.tcp_moderate_rcvbuf=0
net.ipv4.tcp_default_win_scale=0

works very fast now

well the frist command i put it in my terminal

edit the /etc/modprobe.conf file and add these 2 lines to the end. alias net-pf-10 off alias ipv6 off
well i did an i t says this
[root@localhost gundumfx]# /etc/modprobe.conf file
bash: /etc/modprobe.conf: Permission denied

Try adding these lines to your /ect/sysctl.conf net.ipv4.tcp_moderate_rcvbuf=0 net.ipv4.tcp_default_win_scale=0

i put the second command given by you an this is what i got
[root@localhost gundumfx]# /ect/sysctl.conf
bash: /ect/sysctl.conf: No such file or directory

so what can i do please i need help

eaglealan64
18th October 2007, 02:34 AM
You will need to be root to do these commands, so do this first

su -

Jut tried it and it worked for me.