PDA

View Full Version : Trying to use Fedora as game server

BigAl
30th April 2006, 12:31 PM
Hi I'm new to Fedora, and thought it would be good for my kids on our home network to have a good games server.
Have read lots of documentation, but still can not get it to work.
So Fedora installed OK as a server, updates and licience OK.
ET Wolfenstien game installed but wont run
Keep getting "do not have right permissions" message to add folders or extracted files
Can not find Apache or Httpd to start to setup
have downloaded Apache but it wont install
PC has good resorces to do the tasks

Please can some one help me, I'm feeling like a novice and have used Linux RedHat before.

Seve
30th April 2006, 01:01 PM
Hello:
Have you had a look at this thread in the how-to's .. it may help.
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=94257
Cheers :)
Seve

BigAl
30th April 2006, 06:15 PM
Hi,

I think you are trying to be helpfull, but where do you put the initial code?
Code - yum install system-config-users system-config-services,
This makes no sence its frustrating enough with out any clues - is it in terminal window?
Going for a few beers now - this is a newly installed Fedora server. I'll check it out tommorow.
Beers and cheers
Big Al

Seve
30th April 2006, 06:23 PM
Hi,

I think you are trying to be helpfull, but where do you put the initial code?
Code - yum install system-config-users system-config-services,
This makes no sence its frustrating enough with out any clues - is it in terminal window?
Going for a few beers now - this is a newly installed Fedora server. I'll check it out tommorow.
Beers and cheers
Big Al
Hello:
Perhaps this will help ....... and yes I am as always trying to be helpful. :) http://www.fedorafaq.org/basics/ and http://www.fedorafaq.org/ It will explain it better than I can.
Good Luck, enjoy the beers and post back if you need more help, lots of helpful folks here.
Seve

BigAl
1st May 2006, 11:20 AM
Hi Seve,