PDA

View Full Version : k3b DVD Ripping Problem



Armitage
30th April 2006, 06:10 AM
I'm trying to backup some video DVDs and decided to try K3B - if anybody has any better suggestion, feel free.

Anyway, following the K3b manual, I click on the drive that has the DVD in it - first I get an error dialog that says "Malformed URL" (and whoever chose that breaking glass sound effect for errors should be strung up and forced to listen to it 12 hours a day). Anyway, I click OK on that dialog and it reads the disk anyway.

Now I right-click on the appropriate title and click copy. Click through the warning on DVD ripping being unmaintained :eek: I get the next dialog and click "Start Ripping" only to get that obnoxious error sound again (i'll be gutting that fish as soon as I post this) and an error dialog with the following message:

K3b could not mount <>. Please run K3bSetup.

So what gives here? I found some speculation that it might be the automounter - and I'm gussing the same fur-brain that picked the sound effects decided to create the mount point with the title of the movie :rolleyes: So I unmounted the disk and tried again - same thing. Tried all of the above as root also - still no joy.

Any ideas?

And finally, what is K3bSetup?? There are a bunch of localization files for it, but no application or anything by that title in the K3B configuration menus.

FWIW, this is a new FC5 install on vanilla x86 - Athlon XP, IDE everything, etc. It burns CD's and plays DVDs fine. I have SELinux disabled at this time.

Thanks
Armitage

buddha
30th April 2006, 06:48 AM
Although I've never tried ripping a DVD with k3b, I'm pretty sure it's not good for that.

I have ripped DVDs with dvd::rip, vobcopy, dvdbackup, mplayer, transcode, among others. It really depends what you mean by "backup". Do you want a full copy of the DVD or do you want to transcode the DVD to another format such as XviD?

Anyway, here's some links you might check out:

http://www.exit1.org/dvdrip/
http://vobcopy.org/
http://www.transcoding.org/cgi-bin/transcode?action=browse&diff=1&id=DvdRippers
http://untrepid.com/acidrip/
http://www.lallafa.de/bp/cpdvd.html
http://thoggen.net/

xyserge
30th April 2006, 08:23 PM
HI,

May this can help you :

Firstly a link on a HOW-TO about defining fixed mount points in FC5 (necessary for wine and for K3b ?) :
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=103810&highlight=wine

Secondly, Try to start K3b as root through a terminal (su / K3b & ) . I can't burn a dvd if I'm not root. Don't know why.

Good luck.

Armitage
30th April 2006, 11:41 PM
HI,

May this can help you :

Firstly a link on a HOW-TO about defining fixed mount points in FC5 (necessary for wine and for K3b ?) :
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=103810&highlight=wine

Excellent! I knew I wasn't the only person to find that annoying!


Secondly, Try to start K3b as root through a terminal (su / K3b & ) . I can't burn a dvd if I'm not root. Don't know why.

Good luck.

That's how I did start it as root actually. Haven't tried burning a DVD yet.
Thanks

Armitage
30th April 2006, 11:45 PM
Although I've never tried ripping a DVD with k3b, I'm pretty sure it's not good for that.

I have ripped DVDs with dvd::rip, vobcopy, dvdbackup, mplayer, transcode, among others. It really depends what you mean by "backup". Do you want a full copy of the DVD or do you want to transcode the DVD to another format such as XviD?

Anyway, here's some links you might check out:

http://www.exit1.org/dvdrip/
http://vobcopy.org/
http://www.transcoding.org/cgi-bin/transcode?action=browse&diff=1&id=DvdRippers
http://untrepid.com/acidrip/
http://www.lallafa.de/bp/cpdvd.html
http://thoggen.net/

Thanks for the links! I'll check them out tonight. What I want is basically a way to copy some DVDs to a DVD-R. Mostly for the kids stuff so if they screw something up I don't have to fork over another $20 to Disney, Pixar, etc. So I'm not just looking to rip it to the HD. I know I may be sacrificing some quality to put it on a 4.7GB disk - at least until the dual layer disks become reasonable.

mayesdave
1st May 2006, 04:54 AM
I've been having similar problems with DVD burning..


HI,

May this can help you :

Firstly a link on a HOW-TO about defining fixed mount points in FC5 (necessary for wine and for K3b ?) :
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=103810&highlight=wine

Secondly, Try to start K3b as root through a terminal (su / K3b & ) . I can't burn a dvd if I'm not root. Don't know why.

Good luck.

You info above works great for me.. THANKS! :)


Also..

I was able to recover some DVD-RWs I thought I had broken by issuing command:
$ cdrecord blank=all dev=/dev/hdb

I now happily burning an re-burning my dvds. :D

Regards DM

marisdembovskis
4th January 2007, 03:17 PM
I want to Rip DVD (want to covert DVD disc into .avi file) I dont like too much to keep 4 Gb, if I can keep only 1.2 Gb.

K3b could not mount <>. Please run K3bSetup.
this comes up, when I want to Rip DVD in K3B.

Wanted to know, what is the easyest way to do that?

LocutusOfBorg
4th January 2007, 03:39 PM
Wanted to know, what is the easyest way to do that?
ogmrip.
It can output h264 video in a mkv container, even with vobsub and all the audio tracks you want.

marisdembovskis
18th January 2007, 12:26 PM
thanks!
Ogmrip really solved my problems!
:)

marisdembovskis
23rd January 2007, 08:10 AM
Somebody knows, how to create .avi or .ogm by converting it from DVD disc with 2 (!) or even more languages. So that I can swich the languages, if I would like to watch video with another language?

because now I choose with what language to convert.
I use ogmrip, works really well, just would like to have option to keep all original languages from dvd.

m.

Seve
23rd January 2007, 08:30 AM
Hello:
You might want to have a look at avidemux

http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/
it is available from the livna repo

Seve

Wayne
23rd January 2007, 08:44 AM
and k9Copy

Wayne

marisdembovskis
23rd January 2007, 10:27 AM
thanks, will try!

marisdembovskis
23rd January 2007, 02:49 PM
I did:
yum -y install avidemux

but I COULD NOT FIND HOW TO RIP DVD (reading manual now)
Ok, I did open -> first .vob file and it automatically loads other tracks.
Audio was a problem. So I want to encode from DVD so, that it will have second language as optional. in manual is written: " If you want a second audio track to be encoded use Audio -> Second Track." But I did that , it says: External pcm, External MP2/3, External AC3. I choose external pcm. than it opens /media/dvd and is looking for those audio files, but on my dvd I have empty Audio-Ts.
so what to do? and what to choose.
still reading
http://www.avidemux.org/wki/index.php?title=DVD_to_AVI#Loading_and_indexing_yo ur_MPEG_file

so if you have time, can u write in details what exactly I need to click.
thanks.
v9copy was not in repo, probably I will try it.
thanks for help guys.