PDA

View Full Version : fc5: very, very slow updates



pcandpc
29th April 2006, 04:19 AM
Hello?

I have just installed FC5 from DVD, and
the package updates via Applications >
Add/Remove Software appear to take
quite long.

Is this normal?

By the way, I have the DSL connection.

Also, in the new Applications > System
Tools > Software Updater, how do I selectively
choose the update packages only as in the old
up2date process?

Thanks.

speirs
29th April 2006, 05:59 AM
i'm also having problem with pup update. the speed is just too slow.

TimBenny
29th April 2006, 06:07 AM
It works fast to me though, you might pay too much attention to that low speed.

Demz
29th April 2006, 06:42 AM
works fast an sloww at times iv'e noticed

pcandpc
29th April 2006, 09:30 AM
Hi all,

Thanks for all your comments.

Basically, I just wanted a quick update to the already
installed base disregarding the other core, extras,
and whatnots.

Not being able to find the old convenient "up2date" GUI
tool, I just played with the "Add/Remove Software" and
the "Software Updater". However, both of these features
took quite long to complete (many, many hours).

So, what I experimented with the command line "yum"
instead was to rename all *repo files in /etc/yum.repos.d
except the *updates.repo. And, comment everything out
in this file except the [updates] section.

I don't know if this is the proper and efficient way of
implementing the updates only via the yum utility; but,
at least, the yum utility, now, only considers the updates,
not the other core, extras and whatnots.

u-noneinc-s
29th April 2006, 09:42 AM
Use yumex. You can enble/disable repos with a mouse click. You can configure it to NOT auto update. That way you don't
have to wait for it to load it's repos before you get a chance to choose what repos you want. You should probaly run core
updates and extras together anyway to make sure you get all the dependencies, but you can run updates only, and if you
get dependency errors, enable the others and try again. You can also choose which updates you want and which you dont.
The problem with speed is going to happen on all the updater now and then. mirrors go down and other mirros are busy
so it may just keep trying other mirrors untiln it finds a good one.
Yumes even has a "faster mirrors" option

pcandpc
29th April 2006, 05:36 PM
Hi u-noneinc-s,

Thanks for your comments.

Yes, I noticed the GUI YumExtender, but
this was available only after I fiddled with a
long Add/Remove Software process.

Out of a fresh install, this GUI was not available.

Anyway, I, sort of, like the old simpler up2date
Alert tool but I could not find this in FC5.

doublem9
29th April 2006, 05:52 PM
Yeah i get the same problem..i like using yum if i know what the software i want is called exactly.
But if im looking for something like yesterday i had to look for bluefish and quanta plus for html editing..i had to use add/remove it took a while but good thing the files arent huge so even though its a long wait its still about a 15 min dl max