PDA

View Full Version : Kernel RPMs



SNT
28th April 2006, 02:07 AM
Ever since I installed FC5, the only way I can install kernel rpms is via the command line.
When using yum or system install, everything goes through the process as it should, I even get a installation complete message. However, the rpm really doesn't install. Every other rpm installs fine, just not kernel's. I don't get any errors. It is really annoying. Has ayone had this problem?

-SNT

Jman
28th April 2006, 03:43 AM
The only thing I can think that could be wrong of is yum's special kernel logic.

You can workaround with installing yum-utils and "yumdownload"ing kernel every time, but that would get annoying.

SNT
28th April 2006, 01:24 PM
The only thing I can think that could be wrong of is yum's special kernel logic.

You can workaround with installing yum-utils and "yumdownload"ing kernel every time, but that would get annoying.

How does that affect installing with the system installation tool?
ie. Clicking on the rpm.

Ratty
28th April 2006, 01:33 PM
Could it be a problem with the yum plugin installonlyn ? I've disabled that cause I wanted a backup kernel with working WiFi and Nvidia.

Jman
29th April 2006, 01:22 AM
How does that affect installing with the system installation tool?
ie. Clicking on the rpm.
It doesn't, that's just a convenient way of downloading the latest.