PDA

View Full Version : Gnome Sensor Applet



scorpio2002
27th April 2006, 06:05 PM
Hi there! I installed the Gnome sensor Applet but when i run it I get this error:

"No sensor found"

How do I get it to work? thx a lot :-)
p.s.: that's my configuration: P4 on a ASUS P800-X

steve1961
27th April 2006, 06:14 PM
Hi there! I installed the Gnome sensor Applet but when i run it I get this error:

"No sensor found"

How do I get it to work? thx a lot :-)
p.s.: that's my configuration: P4 on a ASUS P800-X


Make sure you have lm_sensors installed. Then open a terminal, su to logon as root, and run sensors-detect. Follow along and answer yes to all the questions. Also follw the instructions for adding entries in the rc.local file. Reboot and your sensors should be detected.

scorpio2002
27th April 2006, 06:54 PM
It's strange, lm_sensors is installed but I can't run teh command sensors-detect, it isn't in the /sbin directory. Where do I find it?

scorpio2002
27th April 2006, 07:05 PM
Well, i now realized it is in the /usr/sbin dir. Anyway, I dont know why, but when I'm root /sbin, /usr/sbin and usr/local/sbin are not in my default root path variable. How can i fix it?

egr
27th April 2006, 07:20 PM
its because you're logged as root from terminal as user... anyway you can run it like this
# su
Password
# ./usr/sbin/sensors-detect

egr
27th April 2006, 07:23 PM
sry wrong best just to run
cd /usr/sbin; ./sensors-detect
as a root

steve1961
27th April 2006, 07:24 PM
Apologies, forgot about the path issue. /usr/sbin is in my path because I edit my bash profile:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=377035#post377035

micro77
17th June 2006, 11:14 PM
sry wrong best just to run
cd /usr/sbin; ./sensors-detect
as a root
hi
i have lm_sensors problem too.
i try "./sensors-detect" cammand as root
but its return messages this :

/usr/sbin/sensors-detect
# sensors-detect revision 1.393 (2005/08/30 18:51:18)

This program will help you determine which I2C/SMBus modules you need to
load to use lm_sensors most effectively. You need to have i2c and
lm_sensors installed before running this program.
Also, you need to be `root', or at least have access to the /dev/i2c-*
files, for most things.
If you have patched your kernel and have some drivers built in, you can
safely answer NO if asked to load some modules. In this case, things may
seem a bit confusing, but they will still work.

It is generally safe and recommended to accept the default answers to all
questions, unless you know what you're doing.

We can start with probing for (PCI) I2C or SMBus adapters.
You do not need any special privileges for this.
Do you want to probe now? (YES/no):
Probing for PCI bus adapters...
Use driver `i2c-nforce2' for device 00:01.1: nVidia Corporation nForce4 SMBus (M CP)
Probe succesfully concluded.

We will now try to load each adapter module in turn.
Module `i2c-nforce2' already loaded.
If you have undetectable or unsupported adapters, you can have them
scanned by manually loading the modules before running this script.

To continue, we need module `i2c-dev' to be loaded.
If it is built-in into your kernel, you can safely skip this.
i2c-dev is not loaded. Do you want to load it now? (YES/no):
Module loaded succesfully.

We are now going to do the adapter probings. Some adapters may hang halfway
through; we can't really help that. Also, some chips will be double detected;
we choose the one with the highest confidence value in that case.
If you found that the adapter hung after probing a certain address, you can
specify that address to remain unprobed. That often
includes address 0x69 (clock chip).
Can't exec "i2cdetect": Böyle bir dosya ya da dizin yok at /usr/sbin/sensors-det ect line 5095, <STDIN> line 2.
Couldn't find i2cdetect program!! at /usr/sbin/sensors-detect line 5095, <STDIN> line 2.
how can i fix it that problem ?
thanx

micro77
18th June 2006, 03:50 PM
ok
i solve problem this way:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?mode=hybrid&t=48665
bye