PDA

View Full Version : yum is pissing me off



Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 10:59 PM
hey, yum is giving me a headache, it won't get any repositories from core, or updates or extras, or even rpmforge, but it has no problem with the development stuff or legacy stuff. its gives me the usual cannot find valid baseurl. any ideas?

Firewing1
26th April 2006, 11:04 PM
What Core version are you using, what repos do you have, and are you on the 'net?
Firewing1

Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 11:06 PM
FC5 final, default repos and of course i have net.

Firewing1
26th April 2006, 11:13 PM
What happend when you run:

su -
yum clean all
yum --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=core --enablerepo=extras --enablerepo=updates
Firewing1

Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 11:15 PM
Loading "installonlyn" plugin


Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core

bob
26th April 2006, 11:15 PM
Well, yum's working for me and I'll post the repos.d that correspond to yours:

[core]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch
#baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/$releasever/$basearch/os/
mirrorlist=http://fedora.redhat.com/download/mirrors/fedora-core-$releasever
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY

[core-debuginfo]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Debug
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY

[core-source]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - Source
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/$releasever/source/SRPMS/
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY
~


[extras]
name=Fedora Extras $releasever - $basearch
#baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/extras/$releasever/$basearch/
mirrorlist=http://fedora.redhat.com/download/mirrors/fedora-extras-$releasever
enabled=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-extras
gpgcheck=1

[extras-debuginfo]
name=Fedora Extras $releasever - $basearch - Debug
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/extras/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
enabled=0
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-extras
gpgcheck=1

[extras-source]
name=Fedora Extras $releasever - Source
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/extras/$releasever/SRPMS/
enabled=0
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-extras
gpgcheck=1

[updates]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Updates
#baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/updates/$releasever/$basearch/
mirrorlist=http://fedora.redhat.com/download/mirrors/updates-released-fc$releasever
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora

[updates-debuginfo]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Updates - Debug
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/updates/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora

[updates-source]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - Updates Source
baseurl=http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/updates/$releasever/SRPMS/
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora

[rpmforge]
name = RPMforge.net - dries
mirrorlist = file:///etc/yum.repos.d/mirrors-rpmforge
enabled = 0
gpgkey = file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-rpmforge-dries
gpgcheck = 1

Now, if your repos.d are the same, try using 'yum clean all' to freshen up things.

Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 11:20 PM
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/4]
Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core

bob
26th April 2006, 11:32 PM
Well, I'm updating right now and it's working fine. Suggestion - why not rename those problem repos.d, copy and paste in mine and give it a try? If they work, delete the renamed ones.

smfinley
26th April 2006, 11:35 PM
Try uncommenting the #baseurl lines.

Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 11:35 PM
nope, doesn't work.

SHtRO
26th April 2006, 11:39 PM
When I upgraded from FC4->FC5 I had to adjust the repos (it kept my old files in place, I believe) but that fixed everything. Do "ls -al /etc/yum.repos.d/" and make certain that your files are the FC5 files from Mar 14th or so, which may appears with ".rpmnew" suffixes.
EDIT: If they do appear as ".rpmnew" you have to move them into place.

Once I moved mine, it worked like a champ.

But a disclaimer, this was weeks ago and I'm really fuzzy as this was after a long install and a couple of beers, I could be totally wrong. Won't hurt to look, though. ;)

Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 11:42 PM
its Apr. 26 but thats cause i downloaded fedora-release-5-5.noarch.rpm

Cpaulv
26th April 2006, 11:54 PM
should i download the yum rpm and install it again?

SHtRO
27th April 2006, 12:02 AM
if you have install disks you could uninstall yum "rpm -e yum" and then reinstall yum all over again by locating the RPM on the disks, you could also just download the RPM and use that. Then you could just "yum update yum". Worst that could happen is you have to download a new RPM from the net manually and install it if there are dependency issues with the one on the disks.

Cpaulv
27th April 2006, 12:04 AM
i used the dvd, i've heard some people have had problems with it, any truth to that or just random happenings not really related?

Cpaulv
27th April 2006, 12:08 AM
error: Failed dependencies:
yum >= 2.5.3 is needed by (installed) pirut-1.0.1-1.noarch

SHtRO
27th April 2006, 12:22 AM
Then uninstall pirut and reinstall that as well.

Cpaulv
27th April 2006, 12:26 AM
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -i yum-2.6.0-1.noarch.rpm
warning: yum-2.6.0-1.noarch.rpm: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 4f2a6fd2
[root@localhost ~]# yum update yum
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/4]
Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core

SHtRO
27th April 2006, 12:30 AM
something is whacked, can you demonstrate your yum.conf file and repo dir contents...

ls -al /etc/yum*
-AND-
cat /etc/yum.conf
-AND-
cat /etc/yum.repos.d/*

jaydot
27th April 2006, 01:03 AM
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: core
<A href="http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html">Here</A>
Stan Finley has a note on yum that explicitly mentions that error.

Perhaps that may help.

Cpaulv
27th April 2006, 02:29 AM
nope no luck with that, i've searched the forums extensively (before i posted this thread of course) i've tried plenty of things, FC4 had no problems FC5T3 was when i first saw problems (dvd version) but somehow i got it to sort of work, and now FC5 Final doesn't work (dvd version)

Cpaulv
27th April 2006, 02:35 AM
i mean i installed FC5 final final (fresh install) last night/this morning, but i do have all my important things backed up so i'm not worried about that but i just let FC5 take care of the formatting and whatnot, i'm thinking it may be a problem with that, what i could do is take that drive out put it on this machine (since i do have a ntfs partition on there) copy those files onto this comp (since i will need them) and just format the drive completely and do it from the very scratch (since nothing at all would be left on the drive). Actually i will do that and i'll come back if i still have problems, but of course please do keep giving me any advise until then, ya never know it could be useful to me. But i really do appreciate all who have helped me out here. For the many years i've used Linux (starting with Redhat 7.3 or 7.2 through 8.0 and 9.0) this is the only real problem i've had. Which is a lot better than Crapdows.

Cpaulv
27th April 2006, 07:45 AM
*does the happy dance*
it worked.... :D :D :D i'd like to thank all of you for helping me.

Cpaulv
28th April 2006, 10:09 PM
i must be the biggest moron on the planet....ummm no comments please ;) i found out that when i configured my nic card i forgot to insert the dns numbers, i swear i could kick myself, it was odd how it worked before then it didn't now it does....someone kick me, lol

bob
28th April 2006, 10:34 PM
Nah, you're human and an honest one at that. Congrats on your success and having the guts to admit screwing up.

martyfelker
30th April 2006, 12:44 AM
In many cases you could try the graphical version of yum - yumex (yom extender). Install through command line yum - yum install yumex. Works very nice for me in retrieving the latest updates for your installed packages

Cpaulv
30th April 2006, 06:58 AM
i use yumex when on my server when i'm doing things over SSH i use yum commands, i've used yumex since i got FC4