PDA

View Full Version : Change default OpenOffice Writer language



blue13130
21st April 2006, 10:00 PM
I would like to set the default openoffice language to English (Canadian) but the option is always greyed out in the settings window unless I check the box that says "for this document only".

Can someone show me how to set the default language to Canadian english for all documents?

Thanks.

Lluisanunez
21st April 2006, 10:21 PM
It's a bug. Update OpenOffice

blue13130
21st April 2006, 10:34 PM
According to yum I am running the lastest version of it. No updates are available

[sanjay@FC4 ~]$ rpm -qa |grep openoffice.org
openoffice.org-xsltfilter-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-impress-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-graphicfilter-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-calc-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-draw-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-core-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-math-2.0.1.1-5.1
openoffice.org-writer-2.0.1.1-5.1

Lluisanunez
21st April 2006, 10:47 PM
It happened also to me. I found this solution:

1. Open a new document
2. Go to styles and set the fonts with the preferred language (YES, you can set a language to the font)
3. Save as default template in your home folder
4. Go to File > New > Documents and Templates > Organize
5. Rightclick on your default template and set 'make it default'. All new documents will be created in the new language

blue13130
21st April 2006, 11:27 PM
It happened also to me. I found this solution:
2. Go to styles and set the fonts with the preferred language (YES, you can set a language to the font)

Can you explain that step more...I am not sure what to do or how to start. I went Format>Styles and Formatting but then wasn't sure where to go from there
Thanks

pejcaofrito
22nd April 2006, 01:06 AM
2. Go to styles and set the fonts with the preferred language (YES, you can set a language to the font)
Did you meant :
2. "Format" > "Character" > "Font" (tab) : Choose "Language"
Right?

EDIT:

Yes you did! :D Thank you!

blue13130
22nd April 2006, 03:31 AM
Thanks for your help Lluisanunez once I realized what you meant (with help from pejcaofrito) it now works and I can spell "colour" and have it mark it as correct and say "color" is incorrect:). Thanks again!

Lluisanunez
22nd April 2006, 09:06 AM
Yes, it works the two ways: from format -> character -> font etc., or else from styles -> edit a style -> font, etc. etc.
Glad to be of help.
Nice nickname, pejcaofrito :p

pejcaofrito
22nd April 2006, 09:28 AM
Nice nickname, pejcaofrito :p
thx! , My guess is that you can't use "N-Tilde" chars in yours? ;)

Visca el Barsa! ... y a Paris!