PDA

View Full Version : Learning Fedora (and Linux in general for new user)

kstus
19th April 2006, 12:10 AM
Dear General Forum,
I just installed Fedora Core 5. It is my first time using Linux. The only thing I've used before is Windows XP. I don't know *that* much about computers. But I have some small problems with Linux so far. The biggest one is installing programs. I don't understand installing. For example I'm trying to install the Query Browser for MySQL. No dice. I can't get it working. I don't understand the little brown box on the desktop. I don't understand the "extract" thingy. What is going on?
Better yet is there a "good" book about this sort of thing? I'm at a loss as to where to look for a good beginning book for learning Linux. I have two crappy ones right now. Are there any on line coures available that have a cirruculum but with a teacher to ask questions to. Sometimes I get errors at the command prompt that I don't understand at all.
What I really want is Linux: The Missing Manual! But O'Reilly doen't have this title. Why O'Reilly, why?

Sincerely,
New Linux User :confused:

partha
19th April 2006, 12:19 AM
Boy, you sure did bite off more than you can chew. :)

I would first get on line and learn something about linux. I googled "linux for newbies" and got tons of hits. Here is the very first one:
http://www.northernjourney.com/opensource/newbies/

Go from there ..

dshaw256
19th April 2006, 12:37 AM
You have certainly bit off a big chunk. I am quite computer literate, having started off on mainframes in the 1970's, and I am finding Linux in general to have a steep learning curve. And Fedora Core is one of the more friendly distros. The command language is terse and "clever" and there are numerous inconsistencies that will make you nutz if you take them seriously.