PDA

View Full Version : Importing photos from camera with gThumb

Wayne
18th April 2006, 08:14 AM
Did the problem of importing photos from digital cameras with gThumb ever get solved? I guess it's a permission problem because it works fine as root and if I go into /dev/bus/usb/ and change the permissions of the /dev/bus/usb/00x file as root when I switch on the camera it works too. Obviously, that file is created when the camera is turned on and only lasts for that session so doing it every time is a PIA. The only problem is being a clueless noob I haven't the foggiest idea what to do about it! Any help appreciated.

This is the problem to refresh any memories:

An error occurred in the io-library ('Could not claim the USB device'): Could not claim interface 0 (Operation not permitted). Make sure no other program or kernel module (such as sdc2xx, stv680, spca50x) is using the device and you have read/write access to the device.

Wayne

Wayne
20th April 2006, 01:01 AM
Well, it looks like this noob fixed it by trial and error. I found this link while looking through another forum:

http://reactivated.net/writing_udev_rules.html

Although most of it went right over my head, I did learn one little thing so I went to:

/etc/udev/rules.d

and opened the file:

50-udev.rules

Then changed one line so it looks like this:

ACTION=="add", SUBSYSTEM=="usb_device", \
PROGRAM="/bin/sh -c 'K=%k; K=$${K#usbdev}; printf bus/usb/%%03i/%%03i $${K%%%%.*} $${K#*.}'", \
NAME="%c", MODE="0666"

The important part is the "MODE" part, I just changed that value from what was originally there. It now means that the device is readable and writeable to everyone. A small price to pay for a functioning camera for users!

Wayne

Trek1701
2nd May 2006, 06:11 PM
Thanks a lot rondonjin ;)

psyklops
5th June 2006, 02:31 PM
This worked for me also! :) thanx

marisdembovskis
15th June 2006, 02:56 PM
Thanks a lot, rondonjin!
I changed 0644 to 0666
And it works smooth and is OK.