PDA

View Full Version : Installing X Windows through Command Line [FC3]

slaquer
18th April 2006, 06:48 AM
Hello, I am new to Fedora, yum, and all the things about it. I haven't used linux since RH4...so.

I ordered a server from ValueWeb. It is a P4/1GBRAM/80GBHD running Fedora Core 3 with Plesk 7.5.

X11 is not installed on this machine, I would liek to know how to use yum to install everything need to run an X server [KDE/GNOME/XFCE, all required libraries, etc]

Is there an easy way to do this?

The reason I want to do this is so I can use VNC to get into the XServer running on my server.

I do not have physical access to this machine, but it can't be toooo hard, can it?

Thanks!
-slaquer

Tuxic
18th April 2006, 07:12 AM
What you are trying to do is install 3-4 big hifty packages, each which consists of lots and lots of packages, the best solution is to use the groupinstall command in yum to get the job done alll in one short and clean command, read below :

1- become root
su
2-
yum grouplist
3- The output that I get on my machine (bare in mind it's FC5) :
[sam@localhost ~]$ yum grouplist
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Group Process
Setting up repositories
dries [1/7]
livna [2/7]
macromedia [3/7]
updates [4/7]
core [5/7]
freshrpms [6/7]
extras [7/7]
Error: Caching enabled and local cache: //var/cache/yum/extras/comps.xml does no t match checksum
[sam@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost sam]# yum grouplist
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Group Process
Setting up repositories
dries [1/7]
dries 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
livna [2/7]
livna 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
macromedia [3/7]
macromedia 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
updates [4/7]
updates 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
core [5/7]
core 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
freshrpms [6/7]
freshrpms 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
extras [7/7]
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00