PDA

View Full Version : KDE shot the ****

bbraner
5th April 2006, 02:28 AM
so i logged out and logged back into my kde desktop and it came up with an error and just shows a black screen, any idea whats wrong?

Christy
5th April 2006, 02:28 AM
What was the error?

Also, I'm not sure if anything is recoverable (probably, but I'm no expert), but if you delete the .kde (I think) folder in your home directory, KDE will be reset for your user.

bbraner
5th April 2006, 04:09 AM
how does one do that?

Christy
5th April 2006, 04:31 AM
If you have another desktop environment (example is for Gnome):
- log in and open your home directory (icon on desktop or on the top panel --> places, home folder)
- go to the view menu, select show hidden files
- delete the one called .kde

in a terminal:
- make sure you are in your home directory

[user@localhost]$ cd ~
- remove the .kde folder

[user@localhost]$ rm -rf .kde

it just occurred to me that you don't need to delete it, you can just rename it to .kde-old or something. That way you don't lose everything that was in it (except that KDE wasn't working, so it may not be important). It's up to you which approach to take.

bbraner
5th April 2006, 11:49 PM
you will have to excuse my stupidness, but how do i reinstall it now :P

Christy
5th April 2006, 11:56 PM
Reinstall it? KDE is still on your system, you just deleted any customizations you made to it. Just log into KDE and the defaults will be used. You can then redo any customizations you made. :)

bbraner
6th April 2006, 02:20 AM
it comes up with some thing failed and it got an error 11??? then that goes away and my background blinks and it says that a media thing failed?? i dunno

Christy
6th April 2006, 02:29 AM
Can you write down the whole error and post it here? If it had been a problem with only your profile, what I suggested would have worked. If you post the whole error message it would be helpful.

bbraner
6th April 2006, 11:55 PM
kwin crash caused signal 11 (sigseva)