PDA

View Full Version : best repos?



AlexFR
4th April 2006, 08:51 PM
I try to update all my software but get like 50+ drivers/etc that say no repo found. This is FC4 64bit version. What are the best repo/repos?

bob
4th April 2006, 09:45 PM
Set your yum up as described here: http://www.fedorafaq.org/ . Then, in addition, you can add the repositories here: http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_4_installation_notes.html#Yum BUT... change those 'enabled=1' to 'enabled=0' so that only Livna's normally enabled for updates. If you need the others (the rpmforge group), you can use Yumex and check the other ones that might help you search, or you can read the 'man yum' pages and use the '--enablerepo=dries' (or whatever) option to search in a terminal.

Firewing1
4th April 2006, 10:02 PM
Livna & FreshRPMS all the way :D
Firewing1

stanmc
5th April 2006, 12:14 AM
Bob,

So you've decided to go Livna and dump the old way except where necessary? Does this have anything to do with the Nvidia issue?

bob
5th April 2006, 01:00 AM
Nah, I'm still using the RPMForge group, but it's easier to tell someone how to set it up that way than the reverse, and that keeps Livna and the Nvidia modules available without jumping through any hoops.

AlexFR
5th April 2006, 02:07 AM
thanks for the tips. I just ran into the nvidia issue I think. I have a quadro on this machine, and after running yum update and restarting the machine, i cannot change my res to anything higher than 800x600 with a horrible refresh rate. ive tried installing the drivers from nvidia with no luck, its the same version.

can someone help ??

Thanks,
Alex

nyinge
5th April 2006, 02:07 AM
Read carefully about installing 3rd party repositories on Finley's site. Some repos are not compatible with others, and serious things could happen as a result. ;)

nyinge
5th April 2006, 02:10 AM
I'm not sure if they have fixed the issue of not being able to install closed-source modules in the released FC5 kernel. I couldn't get Nvidia installed either. It used to work fine with FC4 with the Linux drivers from Nvidia and kernel-devel (kernel header files).

nyinge
5th April 2006, 02:11 AM
thanks for the tips. I just ran into the nvidia issue I think. I have a quadro on this machine, and after running yum update and restarting the machine, i cannot change my res to anything higher than 800x600 with a horrible refresh rate. ive tried installing the drivers from nvidia with no luck, its the same version.

can someone help ??

Thanks,
Alex
Try Livna repo for Nvidia kernel modules.

AlexFR
5th April 2006, 02:19 AM
I cant figure out how to get livena to work. I keep getting a no mirrors to try message. Can someone post a repo config file?

nyinge
5th April 2006, 02:24 AM
cat livna.repo
[livna]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Base
baseurl=
http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/
failovermethod=priority
#mirrorlist=http://rpm.livna.org/mirrorlist-5
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna

[livna-debuginfo]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Debug
baseurl=
http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
failovermethod=priority
enabled=0
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
gpgcheck=1

[livna-source]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - $basearch - Source
baseurl=
http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
failovermethod=priority
enabled=0
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
gpgcheck=1

nyinge
5th April 2006, 02:27 AM
livna seems working fine for me now. did you check on their site to install the livna repo for fc5?

Firewing1
5th April 2006, 02:29 AM
Try in a terminal:


su -
rm /etc/yum.repos.d/*livna*
rpm -e livna-release
rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release5.rpm
Try now.
Firewing1

TFrog
24th April 2006, 07:13 PM
Stanton Finley's site and warnings are exceptionally good and well thought out. Livna is easy to setup if you use the RPM they setup for their repository. However, I myself ran into issue with Livna repos for certain apps like MPlayer. Heed Stanton Finley's warning carefully before you decide to use Livna repos. I myself won't trust them except maybe for NDISwrapper repos and even those didn't work well on my Compaq R4125US laptop.

Firewing1
24th April 2006, 09:34 PM
Stanton Finley's site and warnings are exceptionally good and well thought out. Livna is easy to setup if you use the RPM they setup for their repository. However, I myself ran into issue with Livna repos for certain apps like MPlayer. Heed Stanton Finley's warning carefully before you decide to use Livna repos. I myself won't trust them except maybe for NDISwrapper repos and even those didn't work well on my Compaq R4125US laptop.
Don't be warned about using Livna, it's 100% safe. It's mixing that causes these problems. In other words, choose Livna or RPMforge and go with them until you can modify the files. (Disabling one of the two so they can live in harmony, but also can be activated with a few keystrokes...)
Firewing1