PDA

View Full Version : source command reset my firewall



sentry
4th April 2006, 08:41 PM
Anyone know why source ~/.bashrc on my FC5 server reset it's iptables?

Just curious., I really haven't used the source command all that much but I thought it was only supposed to reload the specified file...

brunson
4th April 2006, 08:46 PM
It depends on what's in your .bashrc. If there's a command to flush the iptables, then that would do it. However, I suspect the two events are unrelated.

sentry
4th April 2006, 08:55 PM
No flush command in that particular .bashrc. I'm a little concerned because that was literally the first thing I noticed after running the command.

I use non standard ssh ports and right after executing that commad I lost the ability to ssh into that server.

Any clues as to how to find out what happened in a log or some such?

brunson
4th April 2006, 10:14 PM
Looking in a log would make sense. You might try /var/log/messages to see if anything happened at that time. Did you source your .bashrc as root?

sentry
5th April 2006, 12:28 AM
I did actually execute the command as root by accident.