PDA

View Full Version : better gui

bbraner
3rd April 2006, 08:43 PM
Hello- I am new to linux. I just stated using it about 4 days ago. I have jumped through several distrobutions so far starting out with a live boot cd of linspire. Really liked the windows like enviroment but limited on features such as secuirty and coudld not do server work. Plus when i bought a copy with CNR at best buy(44 bucks i love moms discounts) it would not install on my laptop. So i stopped in at my local barns and noble and bought linux bible version 6. I installed Fedora 4 and played around with knnopix for a while. Once again liking the gui on knnopix. I just got fedora installed last night and then fell asleep. I am impressed with the features such as the servers and programs it comes with. Its almost just like knnopix(which i would probably use if it wasnt just a bootable linux) I am just curious if there is a better GUI to go with it. Im not liking the plain jane look. I know this is a trivial question but it would make it much more appealing to use.
Thanks

Lluisanunez
3rd April 2006, 08:46 PM
Install KDE from your FC4 CDs (System settings > Add/remove applications)

bbraner
3rd April 2006, 08:59 PM
hmm i believe i did when i installed fedora, i went through and selected all the options and then just selected the everything from the bottom, i could be wrong, im asuming i am lol. also i dont see that path system add remove
all i ahve is applications places desktop, its setup somewhat simular to a mac in the top left corner

Lluisanunez
3rd April 2006, 09:02 PM
You need to logout, at the login screen you'll see a button "session", there you select KDE and then login again

bbraner
3rd April 2006, 09:09 PM