PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with permissions...

shawnrgr
3rd April 2006, 04:49 AM
I managed to follow a guide to allow core5 to read my ntfs usb hd. It works but only if i login as the root. It wont let me access it under my normal user login. How can I change the permissions to allow me to access it under any user?

twiistedkaos
3rd April 2006, 05:01 AM
Are you using fstab to mount them?

Edit if you are simply do somethign like this:

/dev/sda5 /mnt/NTFS ntfs uid=500,defaults,auto 0 0

Basically all you need to add is the uid=500 part to your mounting line. 500 being your user id, in most cases it's 500

Hope this helps.

shawnrgr
3rd April 2006, 05:40 AM
Im just plugging in the usb and fedora loads it... I'm new to linux so I'm not quite sure what you saying.

solarisman
3rd April 2006, 09:02 AM
what it means is you may have to explicitly set the permissions in fstab.
One question: is the usb drive plugged in when you boot the PC or after you login and gain the console? By default, devices discovered on the usb bus during boot are owned by root.

Enter the command "cat /etc/fstab" in a terminal window (as root).
Look for entries beginning with '/media'. You should see floppy and cdrom,
if you have one. Do you see an entry like '/media/usbdisk' or equivalent?

If so, scan across the line and check the mount type and permissions, and see
if it ends with the word "managed". If this is the case, then you should edit
/etc/fstab and include the line provided by twiistedkaos, above.

BTW, do you have ntfs support installed? It's not part of the stock distro

shawnrgr
3rd April 2006, 01:24 PM
Yes, I figured out how to enable ntfs support so I am able to read the drive. And no, I'm plugging the device in after fedora 5 boots up and i'm logged in. If i cant get this to work... Could I copy the contents to my main hd, format the usbdrive from fedora...? Would that format it with the correct file system? Would I have permission problems then?