PDA

View Full Version : Quick command line question



PilotJLR
3rd April 2006, 03:06 AM
Hi all,
I just noticed an unexcepted behavior in FC5... want to make sure I'm not missing something here.

If I start a terminal, and enter the command:
aterm &
then an aterm window opens as expected.

However, if I then close the original terminal window (the one from where I entered the aterm command), then aterm closes as well.
I had thought the ampersand would keep the command running despite this... I really, really think FC4 would allow me to run programs this way without needing the terminal to stay running.

Am I missing something, or is this something new with FC5?
Thanks!

powereds
3rd April 2006, 03:42 AM
As ive noticed, when you launch an app using the terminal and you close that terminal, the app will be closed also.

Jman
4th April 2006, 12:12 AM
& is backgrounding command IIRC. When the controlling shell is terminated it sends terminate signals. So run it nohup.
nohup aterm & See the nohup man page.

bachtiar
4th April 2006, 12:25 AM
Processes are organized in a tree. When a process (terminal) starts a new process (aterm), the latter becomes a child of former. When you kill a parent, it normally takes all children with it.

PilotJLR
4th April 2006, 01:26 AM
This is very helpful - thank you guys!!!