PDA

View Full Version : sensors cpu temperature static



laiseng
2nd April 2006, 05:50 PM
why is my THRM only shows 22 degree celcius only didnt change

i've checked in my bios it shows me 70 but in linux only detected 22?

steve1961
2nd April 2006, 07:12 PM
You need to install lm_sensors and then run sensors-detect in a terminal (as root) and follow the instructions.

laiseng
3rd April 2006, 02:46 AM
yes
i've had those things installed
and successfully run sensors-detect
but it only shows me the fan1 and fan2 speed not cpu tempreture

[laiseng@myseng ~]$ sensors
smsc47m1-isa-0800
Adapter: ISA adapter
fan1: 3150 RPM (min = 640 RPM, div = 8)
fan2: 2507 RPM (min = 640 RPM, div = 8)

steve1961
3rd April 2006, 08:27 AM
If lm_sensors hasn't picked up your cpu temp it could be because your motherboard isn't fully supported. All I can suggest is that you have a look at the lm-sensors website to see if there's a workround:

http://secure.netroedge.com/~lm78/

laiseng
3rd April 2006, 08:56 AM
base on my motherboard spesification on the link below

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ClassValue=motherboard&ProductID=1863&ProductName=GA-8IPE1000-G

does lm_sensors have support for my motherboard?

steve1961
3rd April 2006, 10:25 AM
base on my motherboard spesification on the link below

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ClassValue=motherboard&ProductID=1863&ProductName=GA-8IPE1000-G

does lm_sensors have support for my motherboard?


Looks like an intel chipset and some of these do seem to be supported:

http://secure.netroedge.com/~lm78/supported.html

Unfortunately it doesn't mention the chipset of your board, so looks like it isn't supported.

karab
3rd April 2006, 07:38 PM
i am trying to install lm_sensors but i get an error during sensors-detect
[root@fedora ck]# /usr/sbin/sensors-detect
# sensors-detect revision 1.393 (2005/08/30 18:51:18)

This program will help you determine which I2C/SMBus modules you need to
load to use lm_sensors most effectively. You need to have i2c and
lm_sensors installed before running this program.
Also, you need to be `root', or at least have access to the /dev/i2c-*
files, for most things.
If you have patched your kernel and have some drivers built in, you can
safely answer NO if asked to load some modules. In this case, things may
seem a bit confusing, but they will still work.

It is generally safe and recommended to accept the default answers to all
questions, unless you know what you're doing.

We can start with probing for (PCI) I2C or SMBus adapters.
You do not need any special privileges for this.
Do you want to probe now? (YES/no): y
Probing for PCI bus adapters...
Use driver `i2c-viapro' for device 00:11.0: VIA Technologies VT8237 South BridgeProbe succesfully concluded.

We will now try to load each adapter module in turn.
Module `i2c-viapro' already loaded.
If you have undetectable or unsupported adapters, you can have them
scanned by manually loading the modules before running this script.

To continue, we need module `i2c-dev' to be loaded.
If it is built-in into your kernel, you can safely skip this.
i2c-dev is not loaded. Do you want to load it now? (YES/no): y
Module loaded succesfully.

We are now going to do the adapter probings. Some adapters may hang halfway
through; we can't really help that. Also, some chips will be double detected;
we choose the one with the highest confidence value in that case.
If you found that the adapter hung after probing a certain address, you can
specify that address to remain unprobed. That often
includes address 0x69 (clock chip).
Can't exec "i2cdetect": No such file or directory at /usr/sbin/sensors-detect line 5095, <STDIN> line 2.
Couldn't find i2cdetect program!! at /usr/sbin/sensors-detect line 5095, <STDIN> line 2.
[root@fedora ck]#

Any ideas how to solve it?????
thx

lazlow
3rd April 2006, 08:34 PM
Have you rebooted since installing lm_sensors?

Lazlow

karab
3rd April 2006, 09:02 PM
no but i found the problem, i had to change where i2cdetect was in sensors-detect
Thx