PDA

View Full Version : Changing Default on Music files?

mrnatch
30th March 2006, 08:53 PM
I just switched from FC4 to FC5 and haven't been able to get any internet radio stations to play. Installed RealPlayer10Gold.rpm. When I try to open a station I get a window saying"Open with" MOVIE PLAYER (default). OK or Cancel. I want to change the default to RealPlayer for all internet radio. I'm new to Linux and Fedora Core so haven't been able to figure this one out. Help would be much appreciated! :confused:

Tashiro
30th March 2006, 09:06 PM
Moved to General Support.

Tashiro

mrnatch
30th March 2006, 11:05 PM
Thanks for the help.

Firewing1
30th March 2006, 11:20 PM
1) Right-click a file and select the "Open With" submenu. Is "Realplayer" there?
2a) If it is, then right-click the file (again), select "Properties". Under "Open With" choose the new app.
2b) If RealPlayer isn't under that menu when you right-click, then hit "Open With..." and choose RealPlayer. Then do step 2a.
3) Close all windows, then try opening the file. It should work now.
BTW, you can check out totem-xine in FC5 (http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=100206) to get totem-xine which will play internet videos, streams (i think?), movies, DVD's, and more.
Firewing1

le_random
31st March 2006, 12:38 AM
I've had a few problems with realplayer 10 on this new FC5 installation - It's stubbornly refused to get a menu entry - I don't know if this is a GNOME or FC5 problem.

Anyway, when you right click, go to "Open With", and "Open with another application". If Realplayer isn't in the list, select "Custom Command" at the bottom of the dialog, and type realplay. The file should open in realplayer.