PDA

View Full Version : Frevo for FC5



chaplan
30th March 2006, 02:18 PM
I would like to create a media center, on Fedora Core 5, using freevo. Does anyone know where to find the repo to install it???

steve1961
30th March 2006, 02:41 PM
You might find this link useful:

http://freevo.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/doc/Fedora

drunkahol
30th March 2006, 02:43 PM
I know where the MythTV rpms can be found as I installed them last night. Unfortunately they're on ATrpms, so be careful about how you add that into your yum.repo.d directory. I add it as a disabled repo. That way I can --enablerepo=atrpms if I want to install new stuff from there.

As for Freevo for FC5: All the best info is on the Freevo Wiki

http://freevo.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/doc/Fedora

Duncan

chaplan
30th March 2006, 02:44 PM
I had already seen it. But it only has RPM's to FC3 and FC4. I have FC5 installed now and can't find anything on this mater for FC5

chaplan
30th March 2006, 02:45 PM
I know where the MythTV rpms can be found as I installed them last night. Unfortunately they're on ATrpms, so be careful about how you add that into your yum.repo.d directory. I add it as a disabled repo. That way I can --enablerepo=atrpms if I want to install new stuff from there.

As for Freevo for FC5: All the best info is on the Freevo Wiki

http://freevo.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/doc/Fedora

Duncan
And how do i do that for the mythtv? How do i ad that repo and unmark it ???

Deore
30th March 2006, 02:59 PM
I prefer Freevo and advise you to go for it :). There is no FC5 repo for freevo so you have 2 choices:
1) follow the steps in the Freevo wiki to add the repo. Then substitute the part "$releasever" with "4". This way you will use the FC4 dir, which is not a problem (I suppose)
2) (recomended) install it manualy - its fairly easy. Just download the latest Freevo from its download page (1.5.4), unpack it and run "# ./python setup.py install" - in Freevo's dir you will find very easy docs explaining how to install Freevo. Or consult the wiki.

Be sure to have all the dependencies though! There is a list of these in the wiki too.
Good luck!

chaplan
30th March 2006, 03:07 PM
I think i will try to install manually. I'll reply later on..... Thanks

drunkahol
30th March 2006, 03:19 PM
Sorry - I shouldn't have teased with MythTV information and then not pointed you in the right direction.

An excellent set of instructions are available on Jarod Wilson's site at:

http://wilsonet.com/mythtv/fcmyth.php

The HOWTO is for Fedora Core 4, but is valid enough for FC5 too.

When you download the yum config file, edit the line


enabled=1

to read


enabled=0

in the [atrpms] section. This will prevent the repo being used unless you force it to be.

When you install the mythtv-suite, use the line


yum --enablerepo=atrpms install mythtv-suite

This will enable the repo for you. I installed in 30 mins last night, but that excludes tuner cards as I'm using it for multimedia on my laptop at the moment. I'll be installing on my media box at home this weekend.

Duncan