PDA

View Full Version : How to switch to root in GUI?



orvils
30th March 2006, 10:07 AM
For FC4 to switch to root in gui there was gksu package, what about FC5?

is there a way I can use in my scripts systems built-in tool for getting root user rights?

arthurhanlon
30th March 2006, 02:32 PM
Do programs that require root access not ask for it before running? You could always login as root to start with.

Arthur

orvils
30th March 2006, 04:06 PM
this is necesery in one script...

logging as root is not an option...

does anyone know if there is a way to use the same "enter your root password" window as for user menedgenment??

wdgiles
30th March 2006, 05:31 PM
"kdesu [appname]" will prompt to run the app as root with a password

Jman
31st March 2006, 05:35 AM
Setup consolehelper, like the nautilus example here (http://fedoranews.org/contributors/matt_hansen/nautilus/).

fDESIGN
31st March 2006, 06:56 AM
Another option is gnomesu:

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=7315

consolehelper is a much better option in my opinion though.