PDA

View Full Version : Static or Dynamic IP for a webserver?

thisObject
28th March 2006, 08:23 AM
Hello,

I heard that it is possible to set up dynamic DNS but I am not sure if I should.
I need to set up a web server to host a website with mysql, smtp and jsp pages.
What should I go with?

Thanks.

Saint Mike
28th March 2006, 08:49 AM
Static IP usually cost money unless ya have a nice ISP, dynamic DNS is easy and free

check out freedns.afraid.org

they also have lots of free subdomain names

Its easy to make a little script to update you IP to ya DNS address, look in there forum for info and i can help ya out

liro
28th March 2006, 09:44 AM
or you can use dyndns.org. free and realy easy. its a linux client availabe (i use ddclient).
i've setup several webserver with this (smtp, php,...)

daverj
28th March 2006, 10:58 AM
I'm with Liro. I've been using dyndns for a couple of years and it has worked flawlessly. It cost around $30 for a 1 time setup fee. Much more affordable that static ip.

liro
28th March 2006, 12:28 PM
I'm with Liro. I've been using dyndns for a couple of years and it has worked flawlessly. It cost around $30 for a 1 time setup fee. Much more affordable that static ip.

but you can have dyndns.org also for free (i use it for several years). i didn't pay a single dollar since now...you then won't have reverse dns (a look-up of your ip will not get your domain-name).

Sugarat
28th March 2006, 03:24 PM
Why bother paying when you get a hostname for free? :-)

Running a web server without a permanent hostname is kind of pointless. How would people find it ?

Saint Mike
28th March 2006, 04:39 PM
If you want a free web hosting servie http://www.byethost.com/ are great, you can them use freeds.afriad.org to mask that DNS address or sub dns address to another dns entry

thisObject
28th March 2006, 05:55 PM
Hello,

Great! It is good to know that I do not have to pay for everything and that some stuff comes for free in this life! :)