PDA

View Full Version : How to install software from CDs ???

fdr
24th March 2006, 03:00 AM
Dear all
I have enough 5 CDs and I have not got Internet connection. Could you tell me how to use Add/Remove Software (Pirut or yum) to install software from Fedora CDs (In detail: How to create local yum repo on harddisk). Because I am an newbie, pls tell me step by step.
Thanks for your help
Regards

u-noneinc-s
24th March 2006, 03:38 AM
Thius is from another thread on the same topic (actually just a few posts down from this one)

CAnt believe this isnt a common problem. I quickly rushed though the installation and thought I'd add packages afterwards. The solution is to edit /etc/yum.conf and where it says "enter your repos here" underneath add
[base dvd]
name=Fedora Base DVD
baseurl=file:///media/disk/
enabled=1

change baseurl to wherever you mounted dvd is

I also moved the yum.repos.d directory out the way so it didnt get read. I ahve installed all the bits and pieces I needed of the DVD now succesfully. Now I can restore the yum.repos.d directory and update

HTH.

Omega Blue
24th March 2006, 04:21 AM
I am pretty sure the Add/Remove Application thing lets you add from CDs. It used to, haven't intalled FC5 yet...

fdr
24th March 2006, 05:15 AM
Don't anry with me because I am a newbie.
1. I add the line into /etc/yum.conf
[base dvd]
name=Fedora Base DVD
baseurl=file:///media/disk/
enabled=1
2. Restart computer
3. Put 1st CD Fedora Core 5 in CDROM
4. Run Add/Remove Software
5. Add/Remove Software shows message "Unable retrieve software information"

=> I think there are diffirence between DVD and CDs
Could you tell me how to install software from CDs?
Thanks

fdr
24th March 2006, 05:18 AM
I am sorry
5. Add/Remove Software shows message "Another application is running which is accessing software information."

u-noneinc-s
24th March 2006, 05:32 AM
First you should backup your /etc/yum.conf and save it so you don't mess up your yum.