PDA

View Full Version : How to run/config VNC Server?



indesin
2nd February 2004, 10:14 AM
While installing Fedora, I noticed VNC came as a package. I'm also pretty sure that when I ran up2date, it downloaded/installed a more recent VNC Server package.

I'm somewhat of a Linux newb here... but not computer illiterate (most of my years have been with MS Windows). I can't seem to find how or where to run VNC Server?

I've done a search, and found multiple files with 'vnc' in them. I've been able to find and run the Viewer. I've even downloaded and tried to install a version from www.realvnc.com (linux version of course). It gave me the message "a more recent version of VNC is already installed".

Well great, but unfortunately I can't find it... can anyone point me in the right direction? I'm using GNOME, and I've found the service [System Settings > Server Settings > Services], but I can't seem to run the program.

=\

Radon
3rd February 2004, 09:50 PM
I have never used VNC (as of yet), although I have messed with a similar program that uses a ssh connection to give a full GUI display of a machine running the sshd. It is cygwin and is fairly simple to setup. I got cygwin to work within about an hour and it doesn't require you to install anything on your fedora computer.www.cygwin.com

4th February 2004, 05:30 PM
Don't forget there are two different RPM for vnc

- vnc is the client part: it contains vncviewer, the GUI that accesses another machine's desktop

- vnc-server contains the vncserver service that enables to "share your desktop"


Check you have everything you need installed...


GM

mip
5th February 2004, 01:15 PM
http://fedoranews.org/tchung/vnc/

Ug
5th February 2004, 03:40 PM
http://fedoranews.org/tchung/vnc/
Give that man a prize. Well done sir.

mhelios
6th February 2004, 07:02 AM
If you'd like to add a layer of security to VNC by incorporating SSH with your remote connections, visit http://www.uk.research.att.com/archive/vnc/sshvnc.html

mhelios

lvansteen
27th October 2004, 07:24 AM
For those who are interested in a complete procedure in pdf-format, it can be downloaded from www.freesolutions.tk

Regards,
The procedure guy.

Airmister
15th March 2006, 11:03 AM
http://fedoranews.org/tchung/vnc/

I've tried the VNC and GDM approach to things and I'm happy with the way that works. It allows me to connect to the box prior to logging in as a user. Does this procedure offer the same possibilities? Or does the VNC Server log you in as the user mentioned in the file for that display? Is it possible to have a display for root?

cheers :)

Airmister
15th March 2006, 11:05 AM
If you'd like to add a layer of security to VNC by incorporating SSH with your remote connections, visit http://www.uk.research.att.com/archive/vnc/sshvnc.html

mhelios

That link seems to be dead. Anyone who have another link for a resource on SSH with VNC?

wintermute000
16th March 2006, 03:38 AM
http://www.ltsp.org/contrib/vnc.html

Airmister
16th March 2006, 04:00 PM
Thanks a lot. I'll have a look at that! :)

bgryderclock
27th April 2006, 11:36 PM
http://fedoranews.org/tchung/vnc/
I'm soo close to getting this work, it's driving me crazy...

I can sucessfully view my linux desktop inside a window on itself like in tchung's great tutorial.
I can sucessfully view my windows PC desktop with my linux (FC4) PC.
I can sucessfully view my windows PC with my old windows Laptop.

But I cannot connect to my Linux vncserver with my Windows vncviewer. :eek:

I enabled my Remote Desktop Preferences in Gnome.

I tryed entering "192.168.1.7" as the server and I get the error message "A socket operation was attempted to an unreachable host"

I tryed entering "localhost:0" as the server and I get the error message "unable to connect to host: connect refused.

What should i do?

brunson
27th April 2006, 11:42 PM
Try turning your firewall off.

bgryderclock
28th April 2006, 12:33 AM
Try turning your firewall off.
Thank you for the quick reply,

I disabled the firewall under desktop > system settings > Security level.

I restarted the vncserver.

Its work now when i enter 192.168.1.7

~All hail Brunson, The Newb Saviour!~ :D

Firewing1
28th April 2006, 12:36 AM
If you'd like, you can see my Server Setup howto (signature) that will show you a GDM over VNC method - Allows any user to log in, not only yours and is also a little more secure than the alternative.
Firewing1