Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st March 2006, 09:46 AM
brightman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
939 motherboard with easy FC4 install?

This should be an easy question.... (don't laugh!).

I'm looking to build an AMD 64 system for a backend and want to get a motherboard which will 'just work' with the latest FC4 kernel. I want to install FC4 from CD do a yum update and have 'stuff work'.

I'm going to need 2 NICs one of which needs to be gigabit ethernet. I'm happy to use an onboard NIC and then buy a separate card for the other one.

Because the system is going to be a backend I'll just buy a low end graphics card.

I'd prefer to use 64bit FC4 but it sounds like the performace hit in using the 32bit version is not too bad whereas the pain is significantly less?

For storage I'll need 'quite a bit' although it doesn't have to be blindingly fast, I'm thinking of 2 x IDE 250GByte HDs... SATA is an option if compatibility is not a problem. I'd be perfectly happy to use an IDE disk for the FC4 install and then have SATA drives for storage?... does that make sense?.

Is there an obvious motherboard to choose?

If I've missed an obvious post that answers these questions I apologise now
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st March 2006, 10:54 AM
anupak Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
I have been using ASUS A8N SLI Premium (AMD 64 3200+) with FC4 with no issues for last 6 months. This is a 939 motherboard with 2 GIG ethernet ports. However I have not used the RAID (SATA & PATA) features so far.

-Anup
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st March 2006, 11:11 AM
psb154 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 63
The A8N SLI Premium is an excellent choice. It gets really good reviews in magazines.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st March 2006, 01:28 PM
brightman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Looks good! I see it uses the Marvell 88E8001 LAN chipset which seems well supported by FC4.

Thanks for the information... ideally I'd like more PCI slots (i.e. I don't need the SLI graphics so would rather have an extra PCI slot) but at least I have one candidate now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st March 2006, 02:01 PM
brightman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Has anyone used the Gigabyte K8NSNXP-939 mobo? Although based on the nForce3 Ultra it has two NICs (1 Fast Ethernet and 1 Gigabyt ethernet but this is OK) and 5 PCI slots.

If I was sure that FC4 would install easily I think this would be my choice? Anyone any comments?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st March 2006, 05:24 PM
Shakes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 445
My motherboard supports socket 939, works with Fedora Core 4 and ran successfully with a sata hard-drive from the veyr beginning. It's a gigabyte GA-K8NF-9, which is based on NVidia nforce 4. It's pci express graphics though so I dunno if that is suitable for you. I get the feeling (tho this is a guess) that most sata drives would be ok with NVidia boards because it seemed to pick the "sata_nv" (or was it "nv_sata"driver) during the install.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st March 2006, 05:28 PM
Shakes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 445
Oh yeah and u were asking about the 64bit vs 32 bit FC. I have been using the 64 bit version. It's not really a problem, except things like the Macromedia Flash plug in don't support 64 bit, which is a pain in the teeth. Apart from that, I haven't had too many issues.

Oh yeah, my UT2003 install needed to use the "linux32" command to dupe it into thinking I was 32 bit, but once I figured that out the install went fine and it worked fine.

Put it this way, I have have gone for the 64 bit version of FC5, so it hasn't phased me too much :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
939, easy, fc4, install, motherboard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the quick and easy way to install 32-bit rich52 Using Fedora 5 23rd September 2009 04:42 AM
easy ATI install? hiberphoptik Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 10th September 2007 06:26 PM
New motherboard = new install??? jonmyatt Hardware & Laptops 8 31st July 2006 03:25 PM
easy install core 3 fibster Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 17th November 2004 08:58 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:09 (Wednesday, 03-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat