Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 18th March 2006, 03:00 PM
mongenix Offline

FC4 System Freeze

Hope this is the right place to post this, so here goes.

I have a business I do work for and they were using dumb (wyse60) terminals to access an Unix box to run proprietary software. They wanted to replace these terminals with desktop computers...(Windows of course). Even though I am new to linux, I have years of experience with UNIX and suggested they look at LINUX. I installed FC4 on a Sony Laptop and setup gnome-terminal to telnet to the Unix box (had to rewrite the termcap to get things to work correctly in vt102 mode) and they loved it. Little to no virus, spyware and other issues were attractive to them. I now have 10 linux FC4 system installed and running, at least 99.9% of the time. Now that the background is set, here is my problem.

So far 3 of these system experience intermittent freezes. The systems simply hang. No response from the keyboard, including the numlock light or the mouse and I cannot ping the systems from the network. The video is displaying what the user was working on but no response. This problem may happen after several days, or several hours. It may happen after the system is idle for an hour or a few minutes. I have now disabled the xscreensaver to see if this is causing the problem but it has only been half a day since I disabled this and do not know it this helped.
Any one else experiencing systems hanging or freezing?

The systems have Intel motherboards(D101GGC), ATI X300 PCI-E video, 512MB DDR, Intel 3.0Ghz HT processor with HT turned off because of a wireless card problem in the (smp) kernel (at least I can not get it to work). The wireless is a linksys card with an rt2500 chip using drivers from serialmonkey.com.

If these systems are stable, this is 10 more systems that are NOT WINDOWS!