Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st March 2006, 10:38 PM
CBHarris Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Wrong MAC Address and network unreachable

Hi everyone. I'm administering a dell workstation that hadn't been rebooted in 296 days, until a massive power outage swept through Berkeley yesterday. Here's my problem:

I'm using a Dell Precision 470 dual processor, with an onboard nic, which is device eth0. This has always worked fine in the past, and connecting to my internal network has been a breeze. But since the power outage, when it tried to bring up device eth0, it said that it encountered a different MAC address than expected, and failed to load. I tried removing the line
HWADDR=00:11:43:1E:AD:22 from the /etc/sysconfig/networking-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
then tried
service network restart
This brought up the loopback and eth0 supposedly. However, after typing
ifconfig -a
I only got information about the loopback device.
My next thought was that maybe the poweroutage had done some damage to the onboard nic, so I put in a new PCI nic, and disabled the old nic in the BIOS. Kudzu detected that the old nic was gone, and that there was a new nic, and I configured it appropriately for my network. However, once the system had finished its reboot,
ifconfig -a
still only showed information about the loopback. I examined the ifconfig-eth1 fiile (This is where I had put it the PCI nic), and added a line containing the approriate 12 digit MAC address. When I restarted the network, it once again told me that it had encountered an unexpected MAC Address, and failed to load the device. I'm running out of ideas to try. Obviously, if I try to ping anyone, it says network unreachable. Any help would be appreciated.
BTW, I'm using Fedora Core 2, , kernel 2.4.22-1.2119.npt1smp
Thanks,
James
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st March 2006, 10:50 PM
Sarthan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belgium
Age: 36
Posts: 142
Just a thought here ... , does the network cable that is attached to the system still work ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st March 2006, 10:58 PM
CBHarris Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
yes. It still works
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
address, mac, network, unreachable, wrong

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vino picks wrong local network for address rbroberts Using Fedora 0 1st September 2009 03:22 AM
Network is unreachable - MSN, IRC Surtr Servers & Networking 0 19th December 2007 08:30 PM
Network unreachable hwa Servers & Networking 3 20th February 2007 07:00 AM
fc4 + xen: network unreachable hth Servers & Networking 4 3rd January 2006 09:10 PM
Network is unreachable badbit Servers & Networking 1 27th July 2005 01:01 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:21 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat