Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12th March 2006, 04:23 PM
walden_pond Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 76
Thanks !

I guess it is the same with /usr/sbin Vs. /usr/local/sbin ?

So does that mean, since there was omething installed with a tarball manually (into the /usr/local/bin dir) , the OS will not keep a track of it, while what was installed using a rpm (into the /usr/bin dir) will be kept track of by the OS ?




With specific reference to the root kit hunter "rkhunter" , it installs itself into /usr/local/. To run it, it is necessary to be root, so shouldn't it rather install itself into /usr/sbin (needing root access during installaion) ?
__________________
____________
Was Newbie on FC 3, now newbie on FC5 !
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12th March 2006, 04:30 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
Yes, /usr/local/sbin is the same, only for root.

Precisely. Tarballs are extremely hard to remove, so RPM management is MUCH easier. And checkinstall merges the best of both . Although, the Tarball's RPM will still install to /usr/local/bin, as checkinstall basically just runs
Code:
make install
, but doesn't place the files anywhere, just tracks where they should go, then makes the RPM with that information. So a tarball will still install to it's tarball-ish locations, it's just that now it's easy to manipulate for query, removal, etc.

Nope... You can type
Code:
echo $PATH
to see your path -- You can run /usr/loca/bin. It seems rkhunter is one of those exceptions... RPM that installs to /usr/local... Then again, maybe the builder used checkinstall to make it... lol
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 28th April 2006, 05:20 AM
Anama Minos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 39
right on. Of course a lot of people who are new to Linux are poor folks. I started running RH5 then SuSe6.2 mainly because I got the demo distros free at the public library. The first puter i installed it on was a 486 i had literally got from a trash heap. Ok a dumpster but you get the picture, the whole setup was free + the cost of electricity.

For that I needed the ultimate control of disk druid, I had 3 ide drives, 2 scsi with an adaptec 1540 controller and the cdrom as /dev/hdd. one of the ide drives was a whopping great 2 gigabytes. the other two were those 325 megabytes Western Digital Caviars.
The Scuzzy drives were 512 and 1024 megs respectively.

So I kind of got used to manual partitioning either with yast or disk druid.
Automatic partitioning never did measure up. Especially since i typically run dual boot machines.

So: keep manual partitioning schemes in the Newbie Howtos.
It really is that important.

Although, now I have gotten a 586 server, yea i know pre dinosaur by today's standards BUT with not one but TWO scsi controllers built on the mainboard. And one lone ide controller. I also have lined up some scsi drives all at 10 G and am going to get a couple of 250G ide drives to maxx it out.
This will be my storage and firewall and Beowulf hub.

Now THAT setup is one that screams for an automated LVM partitioner.
Everything else, the old maybe harder way.

But at least, thanx to the Euless texas public library and the LDP i know how to do it.
Keep up the good work Wing.
I am thrice your age. By the time you get to be an old burnt out ex-hippie 45 year old degenerate you might be in a position to run the world as you see fit BWAAHAAHAAHAA!!!
**imagine Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D flat minor playing on a monstrous cathedral sized pipe organ***
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 28th April 2006, 05:30 AM
Anama Minos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 39
likewise more pertinent to this threadlet tarball is the only way i have been having much luck with installing anything past the automated install of FC4, thanks in part to your guidance on the issue.
neither yum nor yumex nor apt/synaptic nor frog have worked as well as advertised. I might have cochado my system installing or trying to yum install some stuff. Java leaps to mind...
If you want to know what cochado means and you have sufficient cojones just ask your Spanish teacher.
She will probably slap la mierda out of you but other than that pain it really wouldn't hurt to ask...

Important Life Lesson: if you wanna cuss, do it in a foreign language that way people think of you as urbane and sophisticated rather than a crude redneck.
Plus it gives them an impetus to learn a foreign language.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 28th April 2006, 05:32 AM
Anama Minos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 39
that thanx by the way was for getting the system installed in the first place, not for messing up anything. that would be my own fault and hey, if i had messed up even one installation of one program in microsux i would probably have had to reinstall windows just to get any functionality at all out of it...
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 22nd May 2006, 03:10 PM
deyuze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Hello Firewing1,

I have a problem. I'm trying to setup a firewall/router with squid proxy running as well. I'm using a FC 5 box woth 2 NICs and I'm just stuck. Could u give me a step-by-step method of acheiving this? I'd be grateful.

Many Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 22nd May 2006, 04:35 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
Sorry, I can't help there - Never used 2 NICs or a a Proxy. But I'm sure if you start a new thread in the Networking forum you will get some good help - Try there... Sorry I can't be of much help.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 23rd May 2006, 10:25 PM
icantux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 116
Firewing, how come this great thread isn't on the main forums page in a separate FAQ section on the same level as "installation questions, hardware," etc, etc, etc. eh?

It's really too bad that this great topic is buried in the "how-to" (even though, technically, in a strange way, it could be perceived as a how-to). Not even made a sticky - pfff.

Are stickies possible in these forums?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 23rd May 2006, 10:27 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
They are - But I don't want to stick my own threads... Just doesn't look good for me, if you know what I mean.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 24th May 2006, 08:07 PM
icantux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 116
stick! stick!
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 4th June 2006, 04:45 AM
marinaccio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: U.S.A.
Age: 35
Posts: 66
I just have to stop in to give a big Thank You to all of you who are answering all of our questions, and posting fixes to all of our problems we encounter on our path with FC.
marinaccio
__________________
Registered linux user #418499
Family Site www.MarinaccioFamily.com
Web Dev Site www.MarinaccioFamily.biz
Resume www.JosephMarinaccio.com

FC9 T5500 4Gig
IPCop 2.6Ghz 1Gig R/G/O/B
CentOS 5 Dual P3 1Gig - Dev Server
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 4th June 2006, 05:39 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
No problem!
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12th June 2006, 04:32 PM
crgibbs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Cool Prospective Fedora switch

Hiya all,

Thanks for this fantastic post. I've been reading up like crazy in anticipation of a new system build in August, and I'm 90% I will make the switch to Linux on the new system -- most likely as my main OS in a dual-boot system. In this system I will likely use an AMD dual-core processor. How is the support in Fedora 5 for dual-core machines? Do I need to do anything to enable support for such processors? (a la Windows XP Sp2)


--Charles
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12th June 2006, 04:38 PM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
FC recognizes dual core or SMP automatically now, you dont need a special ISO install image. If you want to enable the 64 bit you will need to be sure to download the 64 bit version though. I dont recomend this yet as there really is no advantage to 64 bit but there are disadvantages. This can be argued (and I'm sure it will be) but I'd stick with the 32 bit for now.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12th June 2006, 06:48 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by JN4OldSchool
FC recognizes dual core or SMP automatically now, you dont need a special ISO install image. If you want to enable the 64 bit you will need to be sure to download the 64 bit version though. I dont recomend this yet as there really is no advantage to 64 bit but there are disadvantages. This can be argued (and I'm sure it will be) but I'd stick with the 32 bit for now.
You're completely right - 64 bit basically will improve your performance for multi-threaded applications. But, most programs these days aren't multithreaded enough to get a real performance boost, and there are HUGE disadvantages like no media codecs work, Flash & Java plugins don't work properly, generally there are more bugs, and some apps aren't build for 64bit, only 32bit, so they won't run. (Like the awsome game CUBE) So definetly stick to 32bit for now! If you're wondering - 32bit = the i386 ISO's
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
answered, guide, linux, questions, resource, ultimate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux+ Guide to Linux Certification Review Question Answers mpg187 Linux Chat 3 14th October 2009 10:45 PM
Ultimate Linux Remote Control (Wiimote on Fedora) Valent Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 0 20th July 2009 09:26 AM
Is learning c++, the ultimate way to be a linux guru hdavy2005 Using Fedora 3 9th January 2008 02:20 AM
Another Linux resource Dubious Dave Links 0 22nd February 2007 09:44 PM
GP2X: ultimate linux retro-gaming johannlo Gamers' Lounge 14 7th August 2006 05:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:10 (Monday, 21-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat