Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th February 2006, 06:53 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
yum not working on FC4 install

I was under the impression that yum came installed as standard on FC4. However on trying to get the latest yum.conf I get the following:-

[root@ etc]# rpm -Uvh http://www.fedorafaq.org/yum
Retrieving http://www.fedorafaq.org/yum
error: Failed dependencies:
yum is needed by yum-fedorafaq-4-2006.02.03.noarch

I was more than a little surprised - I can't find yum anywhere on my FC4 installation.

Ideas? Suggestions? Explanations?

Thnx in advance,
Steve.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th February 2006, 07:14 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
Open a terminal and type "whereis yum" - response should be something like this:
yum: /usr/bin/yum /etc/yum /etc/yum.conf~ /etc/yum.conf /usr/share/man/man8/yum.8.gz

Then, try something simple, like 'yum clean all' and see if you get a response.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th February 2006, 07:22 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
No joy. It just reports location of conf file.

whereis yum
yum: /etc/yum.conf

I wonder if my install of FC4 screwed up somewhere but I've been using it for a couple of weeks now (this is the first time I've played around with yum and up2date).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th February 2006, 07:35 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
Yes, it's supposed to be there - something is definately messed up. Try going here: http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat...oarch.rpm.html
and pressing the "check requires' button. That will give you any dependency issues.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th February 2006, 07:54 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
WOW! Tried doing that myself - I'm missing all sorts of things on my working yum. So, obviously that isn't a perfect system! Well, try going to a mirror site for Fedora and simply downloading a yum.rpm and then 'rpm -Uvh yumwhatever.rpm'.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th February 2006, 09:46 AM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
cheers, will do. Thnx for the help.

Steve.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th February 2006, 11:19 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Tried that. Now I am getting the following:-

rpm -Uvh yum-2.4.2-1.src.rpm
warning: yum-2.4.2-1.src.rpm: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 69886cc7
1:yum warning: user skvidal does not exist - using root
warning: group skvidal does not exist - using root
warning: user skvidal does not exist - using root)
warning: group skvidal does not exist - using root

obviously I am new to all this :-)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th February 2006, 11:27 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
tried using both the gz and rpm files (not really knowing what I am doing with either). Tried building the gz in the normal fashion (make install) and for the rpm used

rpmbuild --rebuild yum*.src.rpm

Tried doing a 'yum list' and got the following:--

There was a problem importing one of the Python modules
required to run yum. The error leading to this problem was:

No module named rpmUtils

Please install a package which provides this module, or
verify that the module is installed correctly.

It's possible that the above module doesn't match the
current version of Python, which is:
2.4.1 (#1, May 16 2005, 15:19:29)
[GCC 4.0.0 20050512 (Red Hat 4.0.0-5)]

FAQs not a big help to me - what I need is to be led through the nose on this one. Thnx.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th February 2006, 11:48 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
Try going here: ftp://mirror.linux.duke.edu/pub/fedo...os/Fedora/RPMS and download yum-2.3.2-7.noarch.rpm then:
'su -' and password
"cd /home/skvidal"
"rpm -Uvh yum-2.3.2-7.noarch.rpm"
Let's see if that gets it installed.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th February 2006, 07:48 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Got a later version and tried it:-

error: Failed dependencies:
python-elementtree is needed by yum-2.4.2-1.noarch
python-sqlite is needed by yum-2.4.2-1.noarch

Grinding my teeth in frustration now. I am assuming I am seeing all these problems as I upgraded from RH9 to FC4. Perhaps the upgrade did not pull in things like yum and the Python files. Suggestions? (Add/Remove Applications? - which ones :-)

Thanks again bob for your continuing help (and patience!)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28th February 2006, 08:05 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
bit the bullet and installed said rpms (still not sure what I am doing here - especially looking at the SRPMS and SOURCE dirs.

But it seems like it works. What I'd like to know is how come FC4 didn't install all these packages in the first place since yum is supposed to come as standard. Was it because I had went from RH9 to FC4 directly? Did the upgrade to the OS simply upgrade apps and files already there and no install new packages unless I specifically ordered it to.

Still , it is enjoyable figuring all this stuff out :-)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28th February 2006, 08:17 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
spoke too quickly - now its

Error: Missing Dependency: licq = 1.2.3 is needed by package licq-gnome
Error: Missing Dependency: qt = 1:3.1.1-6 is needed by package qt-Xt
Error: Missing Dependency: libdb-4.0.so is needed by package openoffice-libs
Error: Missing Dependency: mh is needed by package exmh
Error: Missing Dependency: gcc-java = 3.2.2 is needed by package jdkgcj
Error: Missing Dependency: php = 4.2.2-17 is needed by package php-manual
Error: Missing Dependency: libdb_cxx-4.0.so is needed by package openoffice-libs
Error: Missing Dependency: licq = 1.2.3 is needed by package licq-text
Error: Missing Dependency: licq = 1.2.3 is needed by package licq-qt
Error: Missing Dependency: libgcj = 3.2.2 is needed by package jdkgcj

:-(
__________________
"This is the stickiest situation since Sticky the Stick Insect got stuck on a sticky bun"

Steve (Fedora Core 4 - Definite Newbie)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th February 2006, 08:19 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
RH9 > FC update...
That's it. It's always better to format & fresh install in FC and not "upgrade" as then problems like these occur.
What I did is on my FC3 install I decidec I have my /home folder on a seperate partition. I backed up, erased all, and then told "Custom Partitioning" with this layout:
MOUNTPOINT --> SIZE TYPE
/boot --> 100MB ext3
<swap> --> [double your RAM's size] swap
/home --> 1/2 remaining space
/ --> Rest of drive (the other 1/2 remaining)
Then, on a new install, I say custom layout, and mount / as /, formatting, /boot as /boot, formating, swap as swap, formating, and /home as /home WITHOUT format. This effectively preserves all preferences and documents. If you'd also like to store RPMS you can do this on your old system:
Code:
rpm -qa --qf '%{NAME} ' > rpms_yum.txt
When it finished you will find a rpms_yum.txt file. Back it up, install, (with /home on a seperate partition, it's better...) then transfer it back to the new system & install the correct yum repos. Run this:
Code:
cd /path/to/where/rpms_yum.txt/is/stored
su
yum install $(cat rpms_yum.txt)
This will clone packages installed.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th February 2006, 08:30 PM
smacv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
thanks for the detailed post! I know you are going to want to throttle me after this but its probably a little beyond my technical abilities at this point. From what I have seen elsewhere I could do a yum remove on the packages causing the dependency errors but since I don't know what these are I am not sure what that could affect!
__________________
"This is the stickiest situation since Sticky the Stick Insect got stuck on a sticky bun"

Steve (Fedora Core 4 - Definite Newbie)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th February 2006, 08:39 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
lol... I never do a yum remove as sometimes it tries to uninstall 1/2 your system
I do
Code:
rpm -e packagename packagename2
to remove my packages.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc4, install, working, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Issues: CD and DVD not working; USB install: "error loading operating system" jakeg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 5th June 2007 06:20 PM
Install not working stuartindigo Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 18th March 2007 11:25 AM
New FC5 Install, Yum is Not Working Right jimc52 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 17 17th October 2006 11:11 PM
trying to install FC4 or FC5, not working? asif2k Hardware & Laptops 4 23rd March 2006 01:58 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:30 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat