Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Fedora Focus
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Fedora Focus Come in and have a general chat about Fedora and things relating to Fedora.

View Poll Results: Which architecture do you have Fedora Core installed on and does it work good?
i386 - Works good. 32 76.19%
x86_64 - Works good. 8 19.05%
ppc - Works good. 0 0%
i386 - Works bad. 0 0%
x86_64 - Works bad. 2 4.76%
ppc - Works bad. 0 0%
Voters: 42. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th January 2006, 05:22 AM
Zyqwux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 210
Which architecture do you have Fedora Core installed on and does it work good?

Which architecture do you have Fedora Core installed on and does it work good?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th January 2006, 05:58 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
What? Only one option per architecture? What about folks running various, like an x86 Desktop PC and a PoweBook laptop, or a G5 Desktop and an x86_64 laptop (or any mix there by)? hehe... I know those would be a LOT of options, though

x86_64 working good... After you figure out some of the whole 64-bit pitfalls. In general it does work quite well. Still you need to fiddle a bit more than it would be required with 32-bit to have a fully functional system. Though once you have one, it is worth it.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.

Last edited by Thetargos; 27th January 2006 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th January 2006, 06:23 PM
codergeek42 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Anaheim/Fullerton, CA (USA)
Age: 28
Posts: 388
I'm running it on x86 (Pentium 4). It's beautiful.
__________________
~~ Peter ~~ :: ( Who am I? ) :: ( My Blog: A day (or more) in the life of a CS & Language student... ) :: ( Supporter of the EFF & FSF ) :: ( I'm a GNU/Linux addict and Free Software Advocate. ) :: ( How to Ask Questions the Smart Way ) :: ( The Fedora Project, sponsored by Red Hat ) :: ( GNOME: The Free Software Desktop Project ) :: ( GnuPG Public Key ) :: ( About me on the WIki )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th January 2006, 02:13 AM
RedFedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 503
I'm running i386 on an older P4, it's ticking along nicely.
__________________
Registered Linux User # 373325
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th January 2006, 11:08 AM
tomcat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: EU, Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 1,184
Running excellent on and AMD Sempron 2400+ (i686) and an Transmeta 5800 (i386).
__________________
Powered by Fedora & CentOS | Windows-free since 2002
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st January 2006, 02:53 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
Are there really so few x86_64 users out there??? Really?
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st January 2006, 06:24 AM
codergeek42 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Anaheim/Fullerton, CA (USA)
Age: 28
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetargos
Are there really so few x86_64 users out there??? Really?
I'd wager that many run 32-bit installs, even on AMD64 hardware, for compability reasons (such as the binary-only Win32 multimedia codecs or, previously, ATi's and NVidia's proprietary video card drivers).
__________________
~~ Peter ~~ :: ( Who am I? ) :: ( My Blog: A day (or more) in the life of a CS & Language student... ) :: ( Supporter of the EFF & FSF ) :: ( I'm a GNU/Linux addict and Free Software Advocate. ) :: ( How to Ask Questions the Smart Way ) :: ( The Fedora Project, sponsored by Red Hat ) :: ( GNOME: The Free Software Desktop Project ) :: ( GnuPG Public Key ) :: ( About me on the WIki )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st January 2006, 06:34 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
It's been quite some time since both ATi and nVidia added support for x86_64 Linux (almost a year now, for ATi, more for nVidia). However the compatibility reasons are valid... Still you can have 32-bit mplayer/xine/VLC with 32-bit codecs on your 64-bit Fedora
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.

Last edited by Thetargos; 31st January 2006 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st January 2006, 06:58 AM
codergeek42 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Anaheim/Fullerton, CA (USA)
Age: 28
Posts: 388
Good point, which I had forgotten about. Thanks, Thetargos.
__________________
~~ Peter ~~ :: ( Who am I? ) :: ( My Blog: A day (or more) in the life of a CS & Language student... ) :: ( Supporter of the EFF & FSF ) :: ( I'm a GNU/Linux addict and Free Software Advocate. ) :: ( How to Ask Questions the Smart Way ) :: ( The Fedora Project, sponsored by Red Hat ) :: ( GNOME: The Free Software Desktop Project ) :: ( GnuPG Public Key ) :: ( About me on the WIki )
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st January 2006, 07:23 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
No problem, any time

It is surely a bit "harder" to set up... but anyway geeks amongst geeks are using 64-bit Fedoras, hehe...

I wonder what would PPC Fedoras would be called, then... and PPC64 ones... wow, the rarest!
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How good work Fedora in Toshiba Satellite Laptop ppesci Using Fedora 6 20th September 2009 02:29 AM
Will Fedora Core 11 Source work on my i386 architecture? talltomtr Using Fedora 1 2nd September 2009 07:09 PM
Installed Fedora Core 6 and X-server don't work ovjo12 Hardware & Laptops 2 30th October 2006 11:52 PM
Which architecture do you have Fedora Core installed on and does it work good? Zyqwux Fedora Focus 0 20th January 2006 05:15 AM
I installed Core 4 in my Laptop, but the build-in wireless doesn't work!? cpthk Hardware & Laptops 1 30th August 2005 05:48 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:28 (Monday, 15-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat