Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th January 2006, 09:54 PM
AtomicZagnut Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Exclamation Kind-of sort-of internet not working

Howdy folks. I was hoping for some help with a problem. This is a really strange one that's been bugging me and the poor tech support guys at my ISP for about a week now. I'm running fc4 on a pentium 4 box. Everything was going great until I tried to set up internet through Qwest. It works, but when I type a URL into my browser (I've tried firefox, mozilla, lynx, and elinks), it only works about half the time. The other half it says it's connecting for five minutes or so then times out. I can ping any website and type that IP address into my browser to go there, but that's a real pain in the arse. I originally thought this problem must be with DNS, so I called up Qwest and asked for their DNS IPs so I could type them in manually. My /etc/resolv.conf looked like this after the router's automatic configuration:

; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search domain.actdsltmp
nameserver 192.168.0.1 (the router)
nameserver 205.171.3.65 (Qwest's primary DNS server)

After getting the DNS info from Qwest, I changed it to look like this:

search domain.actdsltmp
nameserver 205.171.3.65 (Qwest's primary)
nameserver 205.171.2.65 (Qwest's secondary)

Restarted the network and computer after this change. Still no luck. If anyone has any suggestions, I'd love to hear them. Here's a buttload more information:

My network card is a Realtek RTL-8139 plugged via RJ45 into a Actiontec GT701-WG DSL modem plugged via RJ16 into my wall phone jack.

An 'ifconfig' returns the following:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10C:A2:86:03
inet addr:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::210:dcff:fea2:8603/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2642 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2983 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1167939 (1.1 MiB) TX bytes:368694 (360.0 KiB)
Interrupt:3 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1254 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1254 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1368534 (1.3 MiB) TX bytes:1368534 (1.3 MiB)

and a 'route' returns this:

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
default dslmodem.domain 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

I don't know if this helps or not, but I wanted to tell you all as much as I could. If there's any other information I can give you (mother's maiden name, etc. JK!) let me know. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th January 2006, 12:06 AM
AtomicZagnut Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
So, judging from the ratio of views to posts, I take it no one has even the foggiest idea what direction I might be able to find some sort of assistance in?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th January 2006, 12:19 AM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 39
Posts: 4,175
Desktop -->system Settings--> Network

Click the DNS tab

Is there anything there?
If not place these settings in there save the changes and reboot

primary DNS 205.171.3.65
Secondary DNS 205.171.2.65
DNS Searchpath: domain.actdsltmp
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th January 2006, 12:53 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Also check the times.......Qwest aren't the fastest boys on the block either. Personally I use 4.2.2.1 for DNS.....If for some reason you can not ping using the domain name ie "yahoo.com" you do have a DNS issue

PING 205.171.3.65 (205.171.3.65) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 205.171.3.65: icmp_seq=0 ttl=235 time=46.9 ms

PING 205.171.2.65 (205.171.2.65) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 205.171.2.65: icmp_seq=0 ttl=235 time=50.5 ms

PING 4.2.2.1 (4.2.2.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 4.2.2.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=240 time=28.5 ms
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th January 2006, 02:26 AM
AtomicZagnut Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Right on Iron_Mike! Making 4.2.2.1 my primary seems to have done the trick. Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th January 2006, 02:35 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Keep your primary as 192.168.0.1, this will resolve your Lan connections ie your computers, Make the secondary 4.2.2.1 to resolve everything on the Wan side ie internet. Also keep Qwest primary DNS handy just in case the 4.2.2.1 Verizon DNS goes down, Verizons secondary DNS is 4.2.2.2 just for info.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th January 2006, 08:59 AM
AtomicZagnut Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Thanx for the tip
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
internet, kindof, sortof, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pulseaudio working, sort of... parish Using Fedora 1 3rd September 2009 02:43 PM
Jumbo Frames sort of working bj00 Servers & Networking 3 20th July 2007 08:35 PM
RTL8187 in fedora 7 working ....sort of davfel Servers & Networking 0 9th April 2007 08:54 PM
MP3 player working sort of need help Fezzik Using Fedora 0 14th April 2006 06:32 AM
FTP server kind of working? carlwill Servers & Networking 5 2nd September 2005 10:52 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:21 (Monday, 20-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Jaisingpur Travel Photos - Otavalo Instagram Photos - Jacksonville Travel Photos on Instagram